Aegehn

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hello all,

I'm really pondering wether I can launch a project for translating Yakuza PSP . The fact is I start with several disadvantages :
  • I don't know japanese
  • I don't have prior experience on the PSP scene or Romhacking in general.
But I'm a CS Engineer, know several programming languages, specialized in HPC which gives me a bit of low-level knowledge and sense, and I really want to play the game in English.

Anyway, I was poking around the rom files, trying to evaluate how hard it is to hack some english into the game. It's been less than a day since I started this, but I've made some progress :
  • Cutscenes subtitles are really easy to get and translate. They are in CVS, encoded UTF-8. There are 78 files, which amount for all the cutscenes spanning the 10 chapters of the game. Problem is, not all roman characters are available, espacially in lower case. I guess one way to solve this would be to edit the characters tiles, replace the katakanas for roman letters, and calling the good for displaying the wanted letter.
  • I've extracted a lot of GIM pictures, and to test things, edited the one displaying the first chapter title, then repacked it. It works, but the way GIM are packed in files seems unusual, as I did not find any information.
Here's a few seconds of the intro, just to show that it's doable : http://webmup.com/E71wS

So, what advices or help am I looking for ? Well, two things :

• Fonts used for subtitles seems to be in a file called font_subtitles.pspf. Here the header of the file.
s4LK5dN.png

I've set the encoding in SHIFT-JIS, and google translate 映画字幕書体 into Movie subtitles typeface. But I have no idea how to decode it, nor edit it. If you've already deal with something similar, I'll be really glad if could teach me how to do it.