Looking for a Android phone that works on Tmobile (no data)

Discussion in 'Android' started by Wombo Combo, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. Wombo Combo
    OP

    Member Wombo Combo That Ain't Falco

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
    Looking to look for a decent phone that will work on T-mobile looking to buy on ebay or somewhere I don't have a data plan and I know alot of phones require a data plan to activate the phone. All I am going to use it for is text and phone and occasonial wifi connection. So any android phones that you have experience with that don't require a data plan to activate and work? T-mobile US
     
  2. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't live in the US, but I just want to aid your search. According to my research, T-Mobile is GSM. That limits you to getting a phone with a SIM card slot, designed for AT&T or T-Mobile (an AT&T phone would need to be unlocked though). Another option is getting an unlocked phone from out of the US.
    But in either case, I'm pretty sure you don't require a data plan on any phone (it's a nice thing to have though [​IMG]). I can use my phone without the SIM card, connected to Wi-fi and disconnected from the phone network and the data network.

    I was going to suggest an Xperia Play (an unlocked non-US one, since the Verizon Play isn't GSM), but since you seem to only want one for basic stuff, I'll just let somebody else answer your question for you.
     
  3. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Im pretty sure the sidekick is the only android phone that doesnt require a data plan. If not that phone im fairly sure that t mobile has one android phone that doesn't require a data plan

    Also, t mobile and at&t use different frequencies for 3g, they aren't interoperable unless you want to be stuck on 2g

    And if you do go for an unlocked phone, just make sure it supports AWS
     
  4. serenade.63

    Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    I recently signed up with T-mobile and thought I'd be able to do the same thing, a cheap android phone that doesnt need a data plan... however a salesman at a T-mobile store showed me the phones that dont need a data plan... while they are technically smart phones with android os.... they are complete shit... good news is T-mobiles data plans are cheap cheap cheap cheap!
     
  5. HtheB

    Member HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Bize Her Yer Trabzon
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What do you mean by "and I know alot of phones require a data plan to activate the phone" [​IMG]

    The only phone that I know that you have to "activate" is the iCrap, which you should activate it with iShit.
     
  6. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Unless they've changed their policy very recently, you should be able to use any unlocked or (US) T-Mobile smartphone without a data plan, so long as you buy it from a 3rd party(ex. not a T-Mobile store or T-Mobile reseller) or pay full price (that is, not the contract discount). I would recommend the Nexus One or Nexus S mainly because they run stock android, but there are plenty of options to choose from.

    A small warning though, dont get a T-Mobile G1. Not only is it horribly dated, it requires a data plan to set up if its been factory reset. Just a warning, since its going to be one of the cheapest android phones you'll see on the used market.
     
  7. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    All Android devices do not require a data plan in order to "activate". During the initial setup, many manufacturers conveniently place a setting in there to disable 3G/HSDPA+/LTE connections so that users without a data plan do not get charged with ridiculous prices. With that gone over with, it definitely indicates that you'd be able to get practically any unlocked device off of eBay and get it to work on T-Mobile.

    That being said, T-Mobile (as well as AT&T) run on GSM, as opposed to the CDMA networks ran by all other major US carriers. This puts you at a limitation, as CDMA devices are never compatible with GSM networks. This will promptly cross off all the devices that have come from Verizon, and other US carriers. You're likely going to have to import from an international market for a broader range of phones, or opt for a third-party sold phone from either AT&T or T-Mobile themselves.

    It also should be noted that T-Mobile uses an unusual frequency combination for their 3G data network (1700 and 2100), meaning that devices that are compatible with their data network (once you do opt for a data plan) are quite limited. That being said, however, their 2G network runs on a very standard set of frequencies, and thus shouldn't affect you much in picking out a device, as you're not utilizing their 3G data.

    With that out of the way, there are plenty of devices to recommend purchasing. If opting for something from T-Mobile themselves, I'd go with their new T-Mobile MyTouch 4G Slide from HTC. Fantastic device from what I've heard.
     
  8. Wombo Combo
    OP

    Member Wombo Combo That Ain't Falco

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info everyone really helped me. I was looking on ebay and boy are android phones expensive.

    Basically I want something that just works great as a phone and can jump on wifi nothing fancy nothing to play games very basic does not have to be a powerhouse, a cheap android phone is perfect as long as it works.
     
  9. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    A popular budget device is the ZTE Blade. The Blade has a 600Mhz processor with 512MB RAM, Android 2.1 Eclair (with an upgrade to Android 2.2 Froyo), and a 3.2MP (or 5MP on some models I believe) camera... nothing fancy at all, but does boast many solid capabilities at a very low price. It was priced at $150 last time I checked. That, or you can opt waiting for another month where the ZTE Skate (Blade's successor) will be released with slightly better specs, and running Android 2.3.
     

Share This Page