lolSnes, NEW DS EMU

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
45
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,307
Country
Colombia
uIKsC7Q.png

Released completely out of left field, lolSnes is an SNES EMU for the DS. This emulator is a work in progress and should be tested with this in mind. As of this post no binary has been provided, potential beta testers will need to compile the .NDS file from the source code, linked below. Help support this project by giving your feedback via the on-going discussion link below.

:discuss: On-going Discussion
:arrow: Source Code
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,453
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
Visit site
XP
2,206
Country
Well this is a pleasant surprise, I wonder how this'll fare compared to the abandoned SNEmulDS?

Still, we always have CATSFC on DSTwo which is nice.
 

bene

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
United States
Is there much of a market for this? I just use the one that comes on the DSTwo (handles GBA and NES, too).
 

2ndApex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2012
Messages
677
Trophies
0
XP
418
Country
United States
Is there much of a market for this? I just use the one that comes on the DSTwo (handles GBA and NES, too).


The way the DS handles SNES emulation vs the way the DS handles emulation through the DSTWO means that lolSnes might not have the compatibility of CATSFC but it's already running SMW at 60fps and just needs to get the accuracy/layering issues down better than SnemulDS did to be better than CATSFC for the games it can do right.
 

RowanDDR

SNES Lover
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Location
London
XP
901
Country
Here's the binary if anybody wants it ^_^
-snip- just a sec, needs the license.
ok here:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/4q56m1sdhuzn6bl/lolSnes-master.zip
(source + .nds)

Thanks for compiling this. It does not seem to boot on my 3DS however (Acekard 2i). When I launch the NDS file it takes me to the 3DS sleep menu. UPDATE: forgot to name the rom "rom.smc", now works.

Is there much of a market for this? I just use the one that comes on the DSTwo (handles GBA and NES, too).

Not everyone has a DSTwo.
 

Arisotura

rise of melonism
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
818
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
center of the Sun
Website
kuribo64.net
XP
2,147
Country
France
For desmume, you need to use version 0.9.9, and set the slot1 device to Retail and slot2 to GBAMP. And don't forget to configure the directories properly.

And for compatibility, well... there's no precise list atm. All I know is that games that are known to require insane accuracy will not run. If your game doesn't run in Snes9x or ZSNES, there's about zero chance that it'll run on lolSnes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: the_randomizer

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,663
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,923
Country
United States
For desmume, you need to use version 0.9.9, and set the slot1 device to Retail and slot2 to GBAMP. And don't forget to configure the directories properly.

And for compatibility, well... there's no precise list atm. All I know is that games that are known to require insane accuracy will not run. If your game doesn't run in Snes9x or ZSNES, there's about zero chance that it'll run on lolSnes.


that goes lolSnes-master/snes/rom.smc right, where the emulator nds file is? For slot2, what you mean by GBAMP, I don't see an option called that....:unsure:
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,663
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,923
Country
United States
The snes folder should be in the same folder as lolsnes.nds. Or your SD's root directory if it doesn't work.

As for desmume, my bad. The option is labelled 'MPCF flash card device'.


That's fine. Set it to that, no dice. I don't think it likes the sfc format. How do I config the flash card settings in Desmume? It's asking for a folder, a FAT image, etc. I used "C:\Emulators\Nintendo DS\lolSnes-master\lolSnes-master\" as the directory in the config. Maybe I need to show my config in a screenshot?

Even placed the ROM in the right directory. Crap.... I effed something up, not sure why it's not loading. I think it's because I use .sfc and not .smc.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu: There were 86 Pokémon introduced in Gen 7. Not 88; Meltan and Melmetal were GO and...