Homebrew Question Locking the Album "app"

Gus94

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
3
Country
Sweden
Hi!

I have a question If its possible to lock access to the album app or if you can remove the function where it takes you to the homebrew menu and you can have a "secret" key combination. I will have people who are not into homebrew and don't want them to mess around with it and cause any problems :)

I have looked in the settings and googled around to see and haven't found any result.

Thanks in advance and have a nice weekend!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The issue has been solved by a user in the thread - solution for anyone else who wants to achieve same result.

"You can edit your config through Deepsea Toolbox.
change override key→default"
 
Last edited by Gus94,

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,506
Trophies
1
XP
6,075
Country
United States
Hi!

I have a question If its possible to lock access to the album app or if you can remove the function where it takes you to the homebrew menu and you can have a "secret" key combination. I will have people who are not into homebrew and don't want them to mess around with it and cause any problems :)

I have looked in the settings and googled around to see and haven't found any result.

Thanks in advance and have a nice weekend!
Just remove the switch folder
 

Milenko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
2,814
Trophies
1
XP
3,612
Country
Australia
To make it that you have to hold R to get to hbmenu from album, in override_config.ini under [hbl_config] change:

override_key_0=!R

To

override_key_0=R

Or you can replace R with whatever you want
 

Gus94

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
3
Country
Sweden
To make it that you have to hold R to get to hbmenu from album, in override_config.ini under [hbl_config] change:

override_key_0=!R

To

override_key_0=R

Or you can replace R with whatever you want
I tried changing the override_config.ini to override_key_0=R but when I reboot the switch to (sysMMC Hekate 5.6.0)

It still opens up the HBmenu and not the album :)
Using HBmenu 3.4.2 and nx-hbloader 2.4.1 with FW 12.1.0
 
Last edited by Gus94,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,143
Trophies
1
XP
8,138
Country
United Kingdom
I tried changing the override_config.ini to override_key_0=R but when I reboot the switch to (sysMMC Hekate 5.6.0)

It still opens up the HBmenu and not the album :)
Using HBmenu 3.4.2 and nx-hbloader 2.4.1 with FW 12.1.0
Is there a semicolon ; at the start of the line? If so you need to remove it
 

Gus94

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
3
Country
Sweden
Is there a semicolon ; at the start of the line? If so you need to remove it
There was a semicolon ; on every line in that ini file - I removed the single line - rebooted - still boots into HBmenu - and then I removed all the semicolons in the ini and still opens hbmenu.
 

Gus94

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
3
Country
Sweden
You can edit your config through Deepsea Toolbox.
change override key→default
That was the solution! :toot: Very friendly GUI and was easy as you said. "Change Override Keys" and changing to X app and X key and if you want key to be pressed! Thank you so much!! And everyone who replied! Have a nice weekend!
 
Last edited by Gus94,
  • Like
Reactions: UltimateFight
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    do you look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    why do your friends look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they dont it's just that they saw the outside of my mouse and said it was disgusting
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    oh wait I understand my braincells have increased
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
    J @ Jephter: Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but...