Loading a game on Wiiflow resets the Wii. Can I get some help?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Giddle!, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    On Wiiflow I can still play the Wii games via SD card and I can still play Gamecube games off of the hard drive but I cannot run my Wii backups any more as it resets the Wii when I attempt to load them. USB Loader GX fails to recognise the drive is even there. I have tried different hard drives and SD cards but I get the same result each time. I am using a FAT formatted drive. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this issue?

    This is my first post on a forum so I apologize for any errors I make.
     
  2. calmwaters

    calmwaters Cat's best friend

    Member
    1,718
    375
    May 27, 2013
    United States
    happy land
    Go into your settings and switch your IOS setting from AUTO to IOS249 and see if that makes a difference.

    You're forgiven for your error; just make sure you get around to making a post in the Introductions section of the forum.
     
  3. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    thanks for replying but unfortunately it didn't work.
     
  4. calmwaters

    calmwaters Cat's best friend

    Member
    1,718
    375
    May 27, 2013
    United States
    happy land
    waaaa..... :( maybe you should just try rehacking it then; something isn't installed properly... they're not in iso format, are they?
     
  5. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    .WBFS or something along those lines. They were working before but i don't know why it stopped :huh:
     
  6. calmwaters

    calmwaters Cat's best friend

    Member
    1,718
    375
    May 27, 2013
    United States
    happy land
    Sorry for the delay. USBloader Gx doesn't recognize my hard drive either. I'm also curious as to how a Wii game can be played from a SD card; they're normally too big. I'd try WiiFlow if you haven't already; it's been the least problematic program I've had. Plus it's easy to install your games on it.
     
  7. mike1

    mike1 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    91
    36
    Jun 26, 2012
    United States
    try rebuilding your mbr on your hard drive then reloading your cache in wiiflow
     
  8. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    That is what i used that it didn't work on. USBloader didn't know the harddrive was there.
     
  9. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    Its not the harddrive thats the issue. ive tried new hdds and sd cards often with new files but they all gave the same results.
     
  10. IxisNaugus

    IxisNaugus Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Jun 7, 2009
    London, England
    When you say your Wii "resets", do you mean it boots the system menu? I don't want to sound like I'm insulting you, because this has happened to me multiple times now, but perhaps you've plugged your hard drive into the wrong USB slot on your Wii.
     
  11. Giddle!
    OP

    Giddle! Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Aug 31, 2013
    Absolute its certain its in the right port I mean it will still run Gamecube games off the hard drive just not Wii
     
  12. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,564
    8,913
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    GameCube games work from both USB ports.
    Wii games works from both USB ports ONLY is you are using one of these IOS : Hermes v4+, d2x v9, d2x v10-alt.
    All other IOS work only on USB Port0.

    If gamecube games work, it doesn't mean that the drive is connected on the correct port for Wii games.
    And the loader can see and mount the drive probably because it's using IOS58 and not a cIOS, While USBLoaderGX works only with cIOS (I added IOS58 support for next revision, but it will create the same issue with users : IOS58 works and detect the drive, but launching the game reset because you reload to another IOS. Using two different IOS slot for Loader and Games can be confusing for the user to understand HDD compatibility).
     
  13. mr. Firebeach

    mr. Firebeach Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Nov 1, 2013
    Finland
    Thousands thanks fellows..

    My games are runnig now with wiiflow.
    I did change iso setting from AUTO to 249.

    After that everything work fine..
     
  14. TechMage299

    TechMage299 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Feb 25, 2014
    United States
    how do you switch ios 249 from auto to that ios? i don't know where to go.
     
  15. demetrius M bowman

    demetrius M bowman Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jul 29, 2015
    United States
    How do load the wii backups off the sd card on wiiflow
     
  16. Joash

    Joash Member

    Newcomer
    10
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    India
    change the source to SD CARD in SETTINGS after going to the USB Loading page (the one which has the USB sign)