Load Time After Wiikey Install

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Chronics, Apr 17, 2007.

Apr 17, 2007
  1. Chronics
    OP

    Newcomer Chronics Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for back to back posting, but i was wondering, i just got my wiikey installed and if the load time/read time for the back-ups of any game is slower...like the wii has to process the game and takes about 5 extra seconds than usual to load up, in order to play.?? is my wiikey messed up? my friends wii acts as a normal wii even though his is chipped, load times WAY faster than mines...um...any way to fix?
     
  2. modmanwii

    Member modmanwii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using the EXACT same media?
     
  3. Takrin

    Member Takrin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    i was wondering this the other day but i just thought i was crazy

    i had a wii chipped with PIC12F675 it seemed to load really fast then i switched to a PIC12F629 and loadtime seems tiny bit slower like 1-3 sec, but i just thought i was growing impaitent and everything was same. need to try timeing it i guess

    also exact same backups discs, and the originals seem unaffected


    *Edit*
    oh Openwii was used on both 629/675
     
  4. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    What is your DVD speed set at in the Wiikey config menu? 6x would be recommended.
     
  5. Chronics
    OP

    Newcomer Chronics Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    wtf is PIC12F675 and PIC12F629

    oh, yea same media Taiyo Yuden (Really Good)!!!

    um, DvD - R, I burn ALWAYS at 4x

    wiikey version 1.1, set at 6x read, but the guy who chipped my wii has the cd, i donno how to put 1.2 in, in still happy with 1.1 just want to play backups no more
     
  6. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    a lot of TY media hates being burnt at slow speeds. i have +R's burnt at 12x everything works fine/quick
     
  7. Chronics
    OP

    Newcomer Chronics Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    ya, i heard that as well, but i just wanna be safe, so i burn at 4x! maybe i'll try sometime at 12x, but mostly to 8x, to fast isnt always good like movies!! skipps towards the middle

    is ur load time slower than usual? useing TY's?
     
  8. StacMaster-S

    Member StacMaster-S GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Country:
    United States
    8x speed has been working very well for me. On regular Wii games I couldn't really tell the difference, but when I played Battle Stadium DON for GameCube, I noticed the game couldn't load the audio fast enough and was getting some issues.
     
  9. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    I had been burning Wii games at 4x, but I noticed my discs that I burned at 2.4x load faster. The 2.4x burned one seems to load at retail game speed while 4x burned one is maybe 2-3 seconds slower to load. I don't know if this applies to everyone, maybe just me.
     
  10. fugazi

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    which media did you use?
     
  11. 1337Nemo

    Member 1337Nemo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    my dvd burners max burn speed is 4 (in my desktop pc)

    my notebook only has 12x... but 4 is enough [​IMG]
     
  12. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    done a friends wii. For some reason, it is VERY picky on not only media, but well any game. Ie SPM burned two same media, but only one works.

    When you go into disc channel it can take a good 5-10 seconds to show.

    Opened wii back up, mod was all fine. Even redone a point. But still the same unfourtunatly.
     
  13. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    done a friends wii. For some reason, it is VERY picky on not only media, but well any game. Ie SPM burned two same media, but only one works.

    When you go into disc channel it can take a good 5-10 seconds to show.

    Opened wii back up, mod was all fine. Even redone a point. But still the same unfourtunatly.
     

Share This Page