1. XswordcraftX

    XswordcraftX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Apparently you still can. I dont think its possible or necessary to update to v9.2. Just continue using your firmware as 8.1. Update your emunand firmware to 10.3 and NOT your sysnand firmware (which is Nintendo's firmware). Make sure you dont update the wrong one like me (updated sysnand to v9.6) and now my gateway is a piece of junk (Im in tears now).
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2015
  2. hksrb25s14

    hksrb25s14 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ouch, FW9.6? How did that happen? was it label emunand? now I'm scared to do anything.
    oh plus, what does the blue card do?

    and what's the Maximum Storage for the Gateway? can I do 128gb? or 64 gb is max?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2015
  3. hksrb25s14

    hksrb25s14 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    okay, I research some more, okay if my emunand old and I put in or play a game that has newest FW, will it automatic Update the FW???
    or Ask you if you wanna Update?
     
  4. XswordcraftX

    XswordcraftX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Correct me if im wrong....

    I cant remember if it will (been a while since I touched Gateway as i bought sky3ds), but I think its best if you update your own Gateway emunand firmware to the latest, then just shut off your wifi and play as per normal. I wouldnt leave my Wifi running by accident all the time in case I automatically download the latest sysnand firmware. Anyway, lots of tutorials online to teach you how to update your Gateway firmware to play the latest games.

    How to update Gateway Firmware -
     
  5. hksrb25s14

    hksrb25s14 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    I love the Gateway, I updated it to Gateway Ultra Ver. 3.41,
    The thing is everytime I turn off the 3ds XL it won't boot to gateway mode,
    the only way to get to Gateway mode is to do the internet browser go.gateway-3ds .com (without the space)
    then it loads the gateway mode then automatic loads to home page.

    Did I do anything wrong? or is this normal?

    Thanks
     
  6. sirus1999

    sirus1999 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Iran
    i buy a new 3ds xl 9.0.0-20u but gateway not working.
    how i can setup gateway Without two games Zelda: Ocarina of Time and cubic ninja?
    beacuse in my country Not easy found original 3ds games.
    please help....Is there another way for new 3ds xl 9.0.0-20u setup gateway?
     
  7. luibee

    luibee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Need help playing ds games with blue card.
    I was doing those following steps:
    1. Format the mSd 8gb fat 32 for the blue card.
    2. Copy folder bluecard r4 from website gateway into the root of the sd card. The file ds_menu.dat also in the root.
    3. Boot to gw mode with redcard. Running devmenu > install ctr card (bluecardfix.cia).
    4. Insert blue card. Click icon "deep labyrynth".
    Then I got an error "cant open ds-menu.dat". Im sure I've already put the file in the root of my msd card.
    What did I do wrong? Please help. Thankss guys.
     
  8. Chrisser_75

    Chrisser_75 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Germany
    is there a possibility to boot into gateway mode offline?
    Without an internet connection / the webbrowser ?
    THX!
     
  9. hypertek

    hypertek Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    ok guys, i been away from the 3ds scene for a few months.. 3ds xl w/ 4.4 firmware, running gateway. I havent updated in a while, so i may do that. but im wondering if its worth doing a cfw ? or stick with the 4.4 and gateway? I obviously havent really looked up the benefits of doing a cfw or if its worth it over the gateway at this stage in time.

    Kinda got the itch to look for a n3dsxl, but i hardly play much as is, so my 3dsxl should still be fine for me.
     
  10. Grink

    Grink GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    so i had an emunand partition with emunand 10.3 on it; sysnand was 4.2

    decided to swap out sdcards

    put in a new emunand partition and multirom works on my 4.2 emunand but not on my 10.3 emunand

    did i break something?
     
  11. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Country:
    United States
    Did you inject your old emunand into the new card?
     
  12. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,411
    Country:
    United States
    Use Homemenhax + Mini Pasta + FBI + Cubic Ninja CIA = Gateway
     
  13. Grink

    Grink GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT:

    im a big stupid nerd and i was using gateway version 3.4.1 and so i needed 3.5.1
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  14. cid xiv

    cid xiv Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    do i still need OOT or cubic ninja to hack a N3DS? or cani use the internet browser exploit now?
     
  15. sirus1999

    sirus1999 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Iran
    thank you....this work for me.....but how save that in my new 3ds xl?....Because when i turn off new 3ds xl i must do it again......how i can save this hack in my new 3ds xl?
     
  16. Thornhill33

    Thornhill33 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    France
    Use this if you have an Android phone :

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-go-gateway-offline-exploit-host-on-android.378474/

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Do you know why Gateway team did not implement GW mode cold boot like other CFW ?
    Fear of brick ?
     
  17. Sony98

    Sony98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Is there any way for autoboot Emunand if i start my 3ds ?
    Because there is already a autoboot funktion for cfw, and i dont wont to execute the exploit every time in sysnand settings.
     
  18. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Country:
    United States
    No, Gatewait could easily add it in an update but they don't care since it is not strictly a necessity... Just like how they never supported downgraded mset for 5.0 - 9.2 o3DS users.
     
  19. Thornhill33

    Thornhill33 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    France
    I ask them and they replied it was on their todo list but can't give a delivery date.
    As always with Gateway : Coming Soon (TM) !
    I wonder if they fear some risk of brick in case of accidental sysnand update combined with emunand bootstrap ?
     
  20. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Country:
    United States
    Naaaah, they just don't want to do any "unnecessary" work. People behind Gateway pay the developers big sums of money to do the work and they resell it.

    They released the downgraded mset for the N3DS long ago, so 9.2 N3DS users would just use that jst like 4.x systems... Since then people with 9.2 systems begged them to add support for the o3DS... Never did... Even free CFW's added support for downgraded mset for o3DS.

    Then Menuhax came over and people have been begging them to add support and they always come out with some excuse, there is no brick risk, Menuhax is just another entrypoint like Cubic Ninja, it is obvious to me that they don't want to pay for it, in their ideal world all o3DS users downgrade to 4.x and N3DS users downgraded mset... And they don't need to work in another entrypoints...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, Gateway,