Hacking [List] Games required Firmware version

Romreactor

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
114
Country
United States
No, you just need a copy on your computer since NSC_Builder is a computer program not a homebrew application. You will also need a set of Switch keys which can be obtained legally with Lockpick.

Hold up, you're telling me I can download a pirated copy of Astrol Chains now and then without even having a cartridge side load it to a micro sd card and play it on a Switch with an upgraded version to the games required version using ChoiDojourNX?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,684
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,234
Country
United States
Hold up, you're telling me I can download a pirated copy of Astrol Chains now and then without even having a cartridge side load it to a micro sd card and play it on a Switch with an upgraded version to the games required version using ChoiDojourNX?
Well...yes. Piracy has been possible on the Switch for over a year, for both paid-for and free CFW.
 

Romreactor

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
114
Country
United States
No, you just need a copy on your computer since NSC_Builder is a computer program not a homebrew application. You will also need a set of Switch keys which can be obtained legally with Lockpick.

A little confused now since I read a thread where people were able tp use goldlief to run Astral Chains which requires version 8.0.1 but they ran it on Goldlied 7.0 with the option to ignore required firmware turned on. Do I basically just need to install Goldlief or is it best to use ChoiDojourNX update from 4.1.0 to 8.1.0 and just buy the game and play it with its updated patch?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,684
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,234
Country
United States
A little confused now since I read a thread where people were able tp use goldlief to run Astral Chains which requires version 8.0.1 but they ran it on Goldlied 7.0 with the option to ignore required firmware turned on. Do I basically just need to install Goldlief or is it best to use ChoiDojourNX update from 4.1.0 to 8.1.0 and just buy the game and play it with its updated patch?
What I'm saying is I have no idea what firmware Astral Chain requires but you can use NSC_Builder to check since there is no list that is up-to-date anymore for these types of questions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Romreactor

Romreactor

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
114
Country
United States
What I'm saying is I have no idea what firmware Astral Chain requires but you can use NSC_Builder to check since there is no list that is up-to-date anymore for these types of questions.

The users in the thread about Astral Chains firmware confirmed it came with firmware update 8.0.1 in the box and then once connected online it requested to update to 8.1.0 including patching the game. But once my PC is operational next month I will download this desktop tool as I doubt its availble for mac.
 

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
121
XP
931
Country
Australia
@Romreactor there are 2 things about running games on lower firmware
1 the value set in the game
2 the sdk version to compile it

You can I stall a game saying it needs 8.10 by using the ignore firmware version that's the first point above. But if the sdk used has components from 7.0you can't run it on anything below 7 as it will error out

Now if you use the windows app switch backup manager it will tell you the sdk version (and lowest system version that can play) and the files listed system version needed (which can be ignored)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Romreactor

KnightRiderX420

The Anigmatic Anomoly
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
151
Trophies
0
Age
45
Location
U.S.A.
Website
www.beyondwindows10.com
XP
591
Country
United States
not sure if this should go here but i have a game that on atmo9.4 firm9.0 loads gets to startup screen and then says press a to start. the buttons do nothing, almost as if the issue mentioned in the announcement also affects some games as well as homebrew apps. my question is if that's the case what firmware does run this game? "the lost child"
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,228
Trophies
1
XP
8,796
Country
United Kingdom
not sure if this should go here but i have a game that on atmo9.4 firm9.0 loads gets to startup screen and then says press a to start. the buttons do nothing, almost as if the issue mentioned in the announcement also affects some games as well as homebrew apps. my question is if that's the case what firmware does run this game? "the lost child"
In case you didn't see it yet, there's an updated build of atmosphere 0.9.4 that sounds like it should fix this issue, redownload it from the releases page.
 

tempestry

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
37
Country
India
I can confirm New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe requires 4.1.0 and comes with an update for that version. I had 3.0.2 stock and never connected my Switch to the Internet and it updated to that version automatically.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,684
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,234
Country
United States
To add onto what Resaec said, there are multiple tools that allow you to check the game's required firmware version (as well as patch it to that firmware) making lists like these pointless.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Neither