Linked images in sigs turn the whole line into a link

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Destructobot, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    When people have images in their sigs that have hyperlinks, the entire horizontal line becomes a link, even the area outside of the image. This is really annoying when I accidentally click a link when I'm just trying to focus the window.

    I'll try and turn my sig into an example and then update this post.


    Edit: I figured it out. See post 8 in this thread.

    Edit 2: It turns out that this happens for any linked images that have [ left ], [ right ] or [ center ] tags inside the [ url ] tags. It's not limited to signatures, that's just where you most commonly see justified images.

    Edit 3: Okay, I've narrowed it down to the actual bug. When [ left ], [ right ] or [ center ] justified elements are inside [ url ] tags, the entire horizontal space becomes a link. It doesn't matter if it's text or images, and it doesn't have anything to do with being in a signature.
     
  2. MAD_BOY

    Member MAD_BOY Lazy bum

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Sittard, Limburg
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Seems like a browser issue to me, it's not happening in Chrome
     
  3. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Weird, I don't notice what you're describing at all. I've clicked several times horizontally from your sig, but only when clicking your sig I reach what you link to.
     
  4. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I only remember having that issue with one members signature (I think it was Mei-o?).

    Nothing weird seems to be happening to yours from my point of view.
     
  5. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    Same here. Also nothing in firefox either.
     
  6. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  7. DarthYoshi

    Member DarthYoshi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    At first your sig did NOT have a link in the white space, but then I refreshed the page and it does now. Weird.
     
  8. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I figured it out. This happens when the sig is justified (left, right or center), and the justification tags are inside the url tags.

    This will produce the bug:
    Code:
    [url="http://gbatemp.net/"][left][img]http://i36.tinypic.com/2d7iufp.jpg[/img][/left][/url]
    This won't:
    Code:
    [left][url="http://gbatemp.net/"][img]http://i36.tinypic.com/2d7iufp.jpg[/img][/url][/left]
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    It does exactly what you said it would do now, and I have to agree that it's damn annoying.
     
  10. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if this is actually limited to images in sigs?

    [​IMG]


    Edit: I guess not.
     
  11. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Now I'm wondering if this even has anything to do with images.

    L
    I
    N
    K

    I guess not.
     
  12. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    yup I had a feeling it had to do with having the "link" outside of an alignment code.
     
  13. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    If it helps any, I can replicate this in Opera.
     
  14. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    It's a completely normal behavior...
    Doesn't it make sense to you when you look at the code?

    CODE

    sig


    knowing that divs have a default width of 100%...
     
  15. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Well when you put it that way, I still think it's annoying. I take it there's no easy way to make the link apply to the elements inside the div rather than the div itself? Then again, one programmer making their code do something incorrectly to compensate for someone else writing bad code might violate a Microsoft patent.
     

Share This Page