limited or no connectivity help

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by xmedia, May 16, 2008.

May 16, 2008

limited or no connectivity help by xmedia at 12:33 AM (1,932 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. xmedia
    OP

    Newcomer xmedia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought a USB Wi-Fi dongle to get onto the internet with my ds and I get an error message from my PC saying that there is limited or no connectivity. I can detect the AP with my DS but I cant get online.
    I'm getting my internet from a local building network and not directly from the Cable modem so I don't have access to the main Computer to make any changes there.
    Could someone please help me out with what settings I should use to get a connection?
     
  2. RaiDesu

    Member RaiDesu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Shouldn't be an issue with the DS. Do you have a wired connection? I've found that internet sharing don't work with Wireless/Wireless. What dongle is it?
     
  3. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    its hard to answer this question without information on the typology of your network. however, i have read (not tried myself) that the official nintendo usb dongle will let you connect to any network with any security as the software you install takes care of the packet forwarding. so you could be on a highly encrypted network and the dongle will work as it takes the required signal and type from the nds and forwards it via software around the network to the outside. with that said i don't know if 802.11g or n will still function. the info i read was about encryption only (WEP, WEPA, etc).

    If that isn't the case then it is the way your computer is configured to forward the info or use the dongle itself. that is where you should start debugging, as i doubt you are going to get access to the building network. ask whoever runs the network what the specs are. the info you need is encryption type, broadcast channel, wifi standard. the nds requires wep (64/128), ch 1, 6 or 11, and 802.11b. find out that info so if it is an issue with the way the dongle functions you will atleast know why.

    doing a google search of the nintendo usb dongle, nintendo usb hookup, nintendo usb guide, etc will get you a ton of help. try to find out how to exactly tweak it for a computer and give all settings a try.

    sorry i can't be of more help i use a router myself.

    -another world.
     
  4. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    This seems to be a common problem on PCs running windows ;? You may have to restart the computer or reset the network by unplugging the network router for 10 seconds or so and plugging it bacj in. Theres also a hotfix for Windows XP that should fix this as well.
     
  5. xmedia
    OP

    Newcomer xmedia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    I am using one of these [hxxp://joystores.com/cart/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=69┬Ący=USD] wifi dongles. I running windows XP, I've also tried it using Vista, but still no good.
    As for the "Official" Nintendo wifi dongle, I heard that that has been discontinued due to licensing issues with the buffalo company or something like that.
    The guy who runs the router is a bit of an @$$ and getting him to tell me anything is impossible. I suppose the real issue I have is that the settings on my PC (or is it my network) wont let my USB dongle do any transmitting or receiving. Thanks for all the replies though.
     
  6. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Find your IP address... your LOCAL IP address...

    192.168.x.x (in XP > Start / Run / cmd / ipconfig)

    of the 2 routers I have I get either 192.168.2.3 and 192.168.1.101

    Just find the first number (1 or 2)

    Type this into IE/FireFox

    http://192.168.x.1 --- replace x with the 1 or 2 or other number you found in IPConfig

    if it asks for a user/pass, usually it's no username and the password is "admin" without the " "

    change the "Channel" to 1 or 10, and reset the router.

    You can also add the DS Mac Address to the list of OK sources if your daring enough!
     
  7. jordanlp

    Member jordanlp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm, is it the official nintendo dongle?
     
  8. xmedia
    OP

    Newcomer xmedia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    No, its not the official Nintendo wifi dongle.
     
  9. xmedia
    OP

    Newcomer xmedia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada


    Sorry to say that this did not work.
     

Share This Page