1. ignare

    OP ignare GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I have the latest version of Atmosphere and it was working until I updated to OFW 9.1. Now it goes to black just past the 3 logos. I've added sigpatches and everything. The only possibility perhaps is some file or folder I need to delete off my micro sd but I have no idea where to start with that.
    I need help.
    This is by n means the first time this has happened. Switch hacking in general IMO has been very flawed, such as numerous random bugs with Tinfoil. Just saying.
     
  2. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    Russia
    How did you update and what's your sd card format?
     
  3. ignare

    OP ignare GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using FAT32 don't worry. And I updates with Choi.
     
  4. spenat

    spenat Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    I would recommend you to format your SD card and just install completely clean Atmosphere again. I had no issues with doing so whatsoever.
     
  5. ignare

    OP ignare GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I swear to god if I hear that sh*t one more time... It's not necessary to do that.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,903
    Country:
    United States
    That is a good recommendation though, did you updated your CFW file, 9.1 requires new file if you didn't update your CFW files, that can be one reason why you are getting black screen.
     
  7. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    Russia
    Because there's no reason it wouldn't work for you if you are on f32 with latest atmos and you did update with choi correctly. NO REASON it shouldn't work. The only possible issues could be either you sd corruption or something is wrong with your cfw files/payload. Also, can you boot into nand?
     
    Last edited by bad361, Feb 21, 2020
  8. Risingdawn

    Risingdawn Tempallica
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to format the SD Card. Just delete the atmosphere folder and the bootloader folder and replace with fresh ones, add sigpatches and you're done.
     
  9. Swordoggo

    Swordoggo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Chile
    Did you download themes? If you didn't delete them prior the update, you have to erase some atmos folders (100000000001000 and 0100000000000811, specifically) after you delete them, it should boot
     
  10. silvershadow

    silvershadow GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    Canada
    the reason for the recommendation is because folder structure and other things have changed, and also some sys modules/themes may not be supported upon boot anymore, so the easiest way to troubleshoot is to remove any previous atmosphere folders/files. and replace everything with the new stuff.

    a general computer rule when dealing with things like this is to never OVERWRITE, always delete first, and then put the new ones on, unless the instructions specifically state to overwrite. (dealt with this same issue for the past 10 years at work)

    Knowing the above, you can manually rearrange the folder structure to match the new one that is being used in the latest atmosphere, and then if that doesnt help, create the new config files manually with the correct formatting, and then if that doesnt help, start removing extra folders oyu have in the "contents" folder. please note, you should not have a titles folder anymore.

    hopefully you get it fixed after doing what was suggested.
     
    Last edited by silvershadow, Feb 21, 2020
  11. Sayern

    Sayern Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    Hey guys I have a similar problem :
    I didn't turn on my console for weeks and it worked perfectly back then, there was 30% battery left today when I wanted to boot into Atmosphere and i got the black screen just after Nintendo Switch logo (I can hear the console make a noise, and I must hold power to completely shut down and have access to Hekate again). I did absolutely nothing on my sd card and even OFW won't boot. Then tried to update Atmoshpere, make a clean new install of it, nothing seems to work...
    I noticed the clock was reset, like it was 3pm but showed me 00:00. Maybe the date was reset and when trying to boot console checks it and decide to f*ck up?
     
    ignare likes this.
  12. Swordoggo

    Swordoggo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Chile
    Probably a corrupted sd card, was it fat32 or exFat?
    By the way, any possibility that the place where you left the nintendo was hot/extremely cold?? The fact that it makes a noise is kind of strange even for a corrupted sd
     
  13. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    Just keep the Nintendo folder and emmummc folder (if your switch is dualbooted) and back up your saves through checkpoint. Then drop your new CFW files and you should be good.
     
  14. Sayern

    Sayern Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    I tried with an other SD, tried FAT32 and ExFAT, still didn't work.
    My switch was on my desk in front of my window and sometimes i open it, but winter is not that cold where i live and it would be 10°C for the worse temp.

    EDIT : Work now, i let the battery full charge and it worked again, maybe there was not much battery left and for any reason hekate showed me 33% and the fw refused to boot idk. Also my joy-cons were at 0% battery so I removed it from console when booting to be sure.
    Thank you for answers I was so sick of it! There was no reason to not working! Hope my problem could help some ppl if they got the same kind of issues.
     
    Last edited by Sayern, Feb 21, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere, Latest, Black