Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,157
    Country:
    Canada
    [EDIT] Problem solved.

    Hiya!

    I've got a pretty weird problem on my GF laptop.
    Her machine works fine, but since today, WIFI doesn't want to work anymore.

    Here's the story: She was using it fine earlier today, and suddenly, the WIFI cuts out, and couldn't connect anymore.
    I did anything I knew. WIFI password, troubleshouting (that didn't find anything wrong), even boot to a Linux distro. This one also fails to connect to the router, even though it sees it just fine.

    What's odd is that it sees it. I try to connect, and it just... loads forever, and eventually fails.

    Anyone knows what's up?
     
    Last edited by VinsCool, May 24, 2018
  2. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume you haven't tried connecting to another router or rebooted the router or tested the router with another device, if not do the following first.
    If that doesn't work you will need to determine if its a hardware issue or software. Since you can see the access points it could be one or the other.
    If you know how to navigate the device manager, I would suggest you see if the driver had been updated. Windows and those 3rd party driver updater programs do this from time to time.
    In the device manager find "Network Adapters" expand the list and locate your Wi-Fi card, Right click, properties, drivers tab and see if the "Roll Back Driver" button is clickable.
    If it is click it and restart if necessary, if not then you could try to reinstall the driver from the manufactures website. If you need help doing that I can help when time permits me to.
    Otherwise to test the hardware you can download a custom boot able disk that techs like myself use to test the hardware.
    Gandalf’s Win10PE
    http://windowsmatters.com/2018/05/0...64-redstone-3-build-16299-version-05-08-2018/
    Its like a mini windows with tools and such. You can use the network utility to connect to the Wi-Fi. If it works, you got a software issue like an antivirus.etc blocking it.
    If it dosen't most likely defective Wi-Fi card.
     
  3. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    It’s probably worth asking, is it on the latest WiFi drivers? If not, as in SirECK’s post above, go to the manufacturer website and download the latest drivers.

    And of course, the usual “turn it off and on again”. That’s the only thing that fixes my dad’s laptop WiFi problems.
     
  4. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,157
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh right. There's this now.

    For some reason, the WIFI in here has 2 access points: 1 normal, and another labelled "5GHZ"
    Her laptop cannot connect to the 5GH band, but anything I tried on the first access point failed on a similar manner.

    I guess it's the router that may be shitting on me.

    [EDIT] alright, solved.
    Turns out I had to unplug my router to fix it for once and for all. Welp this is embarrassing.
     
    Last edited by VinsCool, May 24, 2018
    aadz93 likes this.
  5. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    If rebooting the router fixes it, check the router for firmware updates.
     
  6. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,157
    Country:
    Canada
    To be fair it only happened once.
    Been fine since yesterday night,

    I honestly feel stupid for not having tried that first.
     
  7. 6adget

    6adget GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Rebooting the router is always the first thing to try. fixes about half of my clients network problems. they wait a day or two for me to make it to their place just for me to unplug it and plug it back in again. got to love minimum service fees. BTW. if a PC can see the access point and it can see a 2.5GHz and a 5GHz always connect to the 5. although 5 doesn't have as much range. so if you are wanting to play by the pool you might have to connect to the 2.5GHz. the 5GHz is much faster, but not all devices are new enough or have wifi devices that can work with 5GHz bandwidth.
     
  8. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have not read the comments on this but do you have a wifi booster installed?

    i had this issue and its due to the booster having the same SSID as the router.. added EXT to end of it and problem went away
     
  9. VinsCool

    OP VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,157
    Country:
    Canada

    Please read the comments next time, it has been over 2 years ago since I posted this one.

    Locking this thread to avoid further confusion, I had solved this a really long time ago.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Systematically, Connect, Laptop

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.