Language Menu Missing

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Hi guys. I purchased an used Wii (HKG version) but the system language is Japanese with firmware 4.3J. It can play TW region disc so I believe it may be modded. After some googling, most hits said the third page of system settings should have a "language" button but it cannot be found in my case. I can only see two buttons - "online update" (in japanese) and "factory reset" (in japanese). Then follow ModMii tools and tutorial, use Letterbomb to install bootmii and HBC, make NAND backup, install Priiloader, WADS etc. Then I tried AnyRegion Changer and changed language to English and region to Europe. After reboot, it is still in Japanese.
 

trimesh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
117
Country
Hong Kong
Hi guys. I purchased an used Wii (HKG version) but the system language is Japanese with firmware 4.3J. It can play TW region disc so I believe it may be modded. After some googling, most hits said the third page of system settings should have a "language" button but it cannot be found in my case. I can only see two buttons - "online update" (in japanese) and "factory reset" (in japanese). Then follow ModMii tools and tutorial, use Letterbomb to install bootmii and HBC, make NAND backup, install Priiloader, WADS etc. Then I tried AnyRegion Changer and changed language to English and region to Europe. After reboot, it is still in Japanese.

I've just been going over this - that is the standard menu for the HK/TWN Wii, and it only operates in Japanese.

The Taiwanese discs are likewise region coded for Japan, so the fact you can boot them in not an indication that your console is modified.
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
I've just been going over this - that is the standard menu for the HK/TWN Wii, and it only operates in Japanese.

The Taiwanese discs are likewise region coded for Japan, so the fact you can boot them in not an indication that your console is modified.
Thanks for the update. It is weird that only japanese language is available for a console selling to a English and traditonal Chinese-writting country. Is there any way to add the missing language back? I did see some YouTube video that some wii console have interface language in Traditional Chinese or English. Btw, the packing box and user manual for the console I bought is also in Traditional Chinese
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Considering someone modified 4.3U and 4.3E to make Russian modified system menu wads, yeah, if say it's definitely possible... but I couldn't tell u how exactly to go about it
Tried wiinandfuse and going to explore the nand backup for identifying the possible language pack file. Unfortunately it always gives error when opening or copying any files.
 

trimesh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
117
Country
Hong Kong
Thanks for the update. It is weird that only japanese language is available for a console selling to a English and traditonal Chinese-writting country. Is there any way to add the missing language back? I did see some YouTube video that some wii console have interface language in Traditional Chinese or English. Btw, the packing box and user manual for the console I bought is also in Traditional Chinese

Yes, there was a hacked version of the menu that operated in Chinese. Unfortunately, there is no language selector, so there is no English option, which would have made a lot of sense for HK.

Looking at the unit I have with the translated menu, it appears to have a hacked IOS80 (presumably to remove the signature checks):

Checking 00000001-00000050 ...
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: c72c1af67dc4f611cc80ae1bc52e233489747602
ticket RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 47f9e51e171cc8e626115a4a3c13fb764cff79d7
tmd RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
name: "firmware.64.1003120823 [email protected]"
version: 27.31 6943 hex: 1b1f

And also a hacked system menu:

Checking 00000001-00000002 ...
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 7122bc0fd075564770f533d53824f179bd88b429
ticket RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 147b654b3ee257c6f4a5b9fba98e7a80a0d207cf
tmd RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
name: "systemmenu.rvl.1004200538 [email protected]"
version: 2.0 512 hex: 200
access : 3
requires IOS 80
incorrect uid/gid for data folder-- expected: "00001000"/"0001" got: "00001000"/"0000"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/ticket"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/10000095.app"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/00000095.app"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/title_or.tmd"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/title.tmd"

The base version is 512, so this looks like a standard 4.3J with hacks.
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Tried wiinandfuse and going to explore the nand backup for identifying the possible language pack file. Unfortunately it always gives error when opening or copying any files.
Finally tried nand extract, and it works
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Yes, there was a hacked version of the menu that operated in Chinese. Unfortunately, there is no language selector, so there is no English option, which would have made a lot of sense for HK.

Looking at the unit I have with the translated menu, it appears to have a hacked IOS80 (presumably to remove the signature checks):

Checking 00000001-00000050 ...
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: c72c1af67dc4f611cc80ae1bc52e233489747602
ticket RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 47f9e51e171cc8e626115a4a3c13fb764cff79d7
tmd RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
name: "firmware.64.1003120823 [email protected]"
version: 27.31 6943 hex: 1b1f

And also a hacked system menu:

Checking 00000001-00000002 ...
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 7122bc0fd075564770f533d53824f179bd88b429
ticket RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
Decrypted signature hash: 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
SHA1 hash: 147b654b3ee257c6f4a5b9fba98e7a80a0d207cf
tmd RSA signature isn't even close ( 4 )
name: "systemmenu.rvl.1004200538 [email protected]"
version: 2.0 512 hex: 200
access : 3
requires IOS 80
incorrect uid/gid for data folder-- expected: "00001000"/"0001" got: "00001000"/"0000"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/ticket"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/10000095.app"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/00000095.app"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/title_or.tmd"
incorrect uid/gid for "content/title.tmd"

The base version is 512, so this looks like a standard 4.3J with hacks.
Thanks for the info. I originally think the menu is just a bunch of image buttons or HTML / CSS /text files but seems I am wrong. And the procedure seems more complicated and risky than my imagination. May be I study a bit about cIOS first since the console cannot install bootMii as boot2, in high risk of bricking.
 

trimesh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
117
Country
Hong Kong
Thanks for the info. I originally think the menu is just a bunch of image buttons or HTML / CSS /text files but seems I am wrong. And the procedure seems more complicated and risky than my imagination. May be I study a bit about cIOS first since the console cannot install bootMii as boot2, in high risk of bricking.

Yeah, I have to admit that running with a hacked system menu IOS is a bit on the risky side - although this machine does actually boot OK.
 

trimesh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
117
Country
Hong Kong
May I know if you did the hack or someone else?

The machine was already hacked when I got it - and in fact I've seen so many that have this traditional Chinese menu on them that at first I didn't even realize it was a hack and assumed (not unreasonably) that they were shipped like that.

I never got the HGK Wii when it was new because by the time it came out there had been grey market JP Wiis around for a long time and I had already bought one.
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Tried to find the NAND backup for other region for comparison but out of luck.

Though got one for Wii U which is ofcouse won't work
archive.org/details/vwii-nands-all-regions
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Found some old tutorial for 4.1J
Steps:

1. cIOS60-v6174-v3.6.wad
2. 488F12SYSTEM.wad

Not sure if it works for 4.3J. Moreover, all download links are dead.

Another possible option:

https://archive.org/details/wii-rvl-system-menu

EUR/RVL-NigaoeNR-6.wad2020-05-06 21:018188736
EUR/RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v514.wad2020-05-06 20:5823801856
JPN/RVL-NigaoeNR-6.wad2020-05-06 21:018188736
JPN/RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v512.wad2020-05-06 21:0025262976
KOR/RVL-NigaoeNR-6.wad2020-05-06 21:018188736
KOR/RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v518.wad2020-05-06 20:5620081728
USA/RVL-NigaoeNR-6.wad2020-05-06 21:018188736
USA/RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v513.wad2020-05-06 20:5922268224


Based on the information from http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/System_Menu, IOS 80 is required as per @trimesh 's findings.

Not sure if installing a system menu wad from other country directly will work/brick my wii.
Update: It seems installing system menu for other region will cause semi-brick

https://gbatemp.net/threads/help-installed-wrong-system-menu-wad.249717/
 
Last edited by boris1,

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
reformatted this post
https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-change-the-system-menu-region-for-your-wii.170971/


Getting started:
[*] Click here to download
[*]Click 'Save', when prompting to begin the download, to your Desktop.
[*]Extract the contents by using a program that use .ZIP.
[*]Click the extracted folder on your Desktop ('WiiRegionMod' folder)
[*]Insert your SD card on your computer.
[*]In your SD card directory, create the 'apps' folder on your SD card (without quotes) if you don't have one.
[*]Copy everything that's included in the WiiRegionMod folder to the apps folder on your SD card.
[*]Copy the 'wad' folder (without quotes) to the root of your SD card.
[*]Take out your SD card on your computer then put it on your Wii.On your Wii:
[*]Turn on your Wii.
[*]On the Wii Menu (system menu), navigate to The Homebrew Channel.
[*]To avoid an '-1017; error, while you're in The Homebrew Channel, go to WAD Manager.
[*]In WAD Manger, install IOS-36-64-v1042.wad first, then IOS-16-64-v257.wad and finally the cIOSfix.wad. After that, press the HOME button to return to The Homebrew Channel.
[*]Go to cIOS rev08. In cIOS rev08, choose 'Network Installation' (without quotes).
[*]It reboots to the system menu. On the Wii Menu (system menu), navigate to The Homebrew Channel.
[*]While you're in The Homebrew Channel, go to AnyRegionChanger.
[*]Change your console region and your system menu region to Japan, USA or Europe. (For example, console region must be Japan and your system menu region must be Japan.) excl.gif NOT MATCHING YOUR CONSOLE REGION AND YOUR SYSTEM MENU REGION WILL CAUSE A SEMI-BRICK FOR YOUR WII!! excl.gif
[*](Optional)Changing the game region allows you to launch USA game discs and channels (including Virtual Console and WiiWare) if you set to USA in AnyRegionChanger, and it won't brick your Wii. Change your game's region to USA, Europe or Japan. Otherwise leave it.
[*]Navigate to 'Go' (without quotes) then navigate 'Yes' (without quotes) using your Wii Remote while in AnyRegionChanger.
[*]Be patient while installing system menu 3.2.
[*]After finishing installing system menu 3.2, while you're in AnyRegionChanger, navigate to 'Exit to The Homebrew Channel' (without quotes) to return to The Homebrew Channel.
[*]Go to Wii Region Changer (application made by Waninkoko).
[*]Press the A button first, then change using the left or right directional pad (a.k.a Control Pad) to your system menu region (Europe, North America or Japan) (for example, 3.2J (Japanese system menu region) = Japan). Then press the A button to continue.
[*]Now it restarts. On the Wii Menu (system menu), click the Wii button (located on the bottom left), go to 'Wii Settings' (without quotes, located in the right), press the plus (+) button three times and go to Update. This will update your system menu from 3.2 to 4.1.
[*](Optional) If you want to change your Wii Shop Channel country code (ex. from American Wii Shopping Channel to Japanese Wii Shopping Channel), you'll have to remove your Wii Shop Account in Wii Shopping Channel. Before removing your Wii Shop Account, be sure to check and enter your serial number on your Wii, found below of your console (without vertical stand). Now go to The Homebrew Channel while in Wii Menu. In The Homebrew Channel, go to WAD Manger to install IOS-36-64-v1042.wad first, then IOS-16-64-v257.wad and finally the cIOSfix.wad (this will avoid the '-1017' error. Then press the HOME button to return to The Homebrew Channel. Now go to AnyRegionChanger, change your Wii Shop country code. Before that, here's a list of country codes:
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
No one do what boris is suggesting unless u enjoy the risk of maybe bricking your console
Diaclaimer: some posts, as stated in the first line, are copied from the old post. I never suggest or confirm if those steps are still working. Be warned.
 

boris1

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
78
Location
PA
XP
79
Country
United States
Since I am new to Wii world, may I know if customized IOS means it is being patched and supports system menu for other region?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Well these names make sense