Lameboy Emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Nenah, Nov 9, 2007.

Nov 9, 2007

Lameboy Emulator by Nenah at 6:24 AM (12,154 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What hardware would i need to use to sucsessfully install a lameboy onto? ive tried with my M3 light but it wont work, what hardware does it work on?

    Im looking to be able to properly play gameboy color games you see.

    Thanks. [​IMG]
     


  2. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Did u DLDI patch it?
     
  3. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded this file here..

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=780

    What do i do to make it work on my M3 Lite? i havent a clue how to do it, or what to do with a DLDI patch it. Unless you mean run it through the M3 Manager?

    xx
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded this..

    M3 Adapter (SD Card) - DLDI

    But when i click onto that download file, it just asks me to choose a program to open it with, so i dont know what to do with this dowloaded DLDI file.

    Sorry, im a stupid n00b i know!
     
  6. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    ^ Relax, we all start from some where [​IMG]

    Search and download a program called DLDIrc with Google and install it. Select the DLDI file and patch the file by right click>your dldi file and you're done.
     
  7. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah thanks [​IMG] most forums i post on dont bother helping me due to it.

    I installed the program off google, version 0.71 and i followed the installation instructions then it gave me a huge list of DLIDI files and i looked down the list to find the one i download and clicked it, then it gave me a readme file but nothing else happened. What do i do from here?
     
  8. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    no, ur not stupid, u just dont know the way mate [​IMG]

    1. Download a DLDI patcher from the homepage. I recommend this one.
    (http://news.gbatemp.net/dlditool-win32-gui.zip)

    2. Download the appropriate DLDI patch for your flash cart.
    (you've done this)

    3. Select the DLDI file you want to use.

    4. Select the homebrew you want to patch in the ‘binaries’ section.

    5. Click ‘Patch’ and you’re done.

    then copy the file on ur cart and run it.

    source :http://gbatemp.net/?showtopic=45157

    EDIT: look at my post and ur posts's time, as u were typing ur question, i was typing ur answer! kinda on same brain wavelength.
    (hope u get through it)
     
  9. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Right click on your homebrew file and select the DLDI option (can't remember exactly what it should say, sorry)

    After that, a window appears with a bunch of text and ugly stuff. Hit any button (I recommend ENTER because.... I like that button...)

    After that, a bunch more text shows up. After text stops being generated, you should get a message saying that your file has been successfully patched. Close the window and you're good to go [​IMG]
     
  10. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou loads you've all been so great.

    So ive uploaded the M3 Adapter (SD Card) into the DLDI file part.

    Now

    What do i upload into the homebrew bit, the lameboy emulator or a .gbc game?


    PS. : Do i follow this process for the DSmasterplus emulator on M3 Lite?
     
  11. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Execute Lameboy.nds from your M3. A file browser should show up (if a folder 'Lameboy' is absent in the root of your memory card). Navigate to your .gbc files and execute them within lameboy

    Not really sure about DSMasterplus, sorry mate [​IMG]

    EDIT: Well I'm off mate. If you got any more questions, PM me or someone else in this forum will handle it [​IMG]
     
  12. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive patched it sucssesfully and put the patched Lameboy file onto my M3's SD Card

    Now to play gameboy color games, do i still run them through the M3 manager to change them to .gba files, or do i keep them as .gbc files?
     
  13. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Leave them as .gbc

    I don't think you patch homebrew either on the M3(with the M3 manager, I think you just place it on the card. For the EZF4 you don't [​IMG]
     
  14. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou [​IMG] Do i change my Lameboy into a .gba file or leave it as a NDS file?

    Also, can i put the Lameboy in the root of the SD card or do i put it in another folder?

    ZAFDeltaForce, Thankyou very much [​IMG] thanks for the offer and i will PM if you if help is needed, cheers.
     
  15. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for double posting, but ive got some pictures to help.

    This is where i have my Lameboy on my SD card, and beside it a toy story 2.gbc game.

    [​IMG]

    I left it like this, tried my DS and it wouldnt open the toy story 2 game as it still needed the goomba.gba file, meaning its not reading it through the Lameboy.

    But the lameboy emulator cannot be find whilslt looking through the games list on my DS.

    Do i need to do this by any chance..

    [​IMG]

    Then click "Change" and click the Lameboy?
     
  16. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    why i even bother?
     
  17. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    you have to click on (consequentially running) lameboy.nds

    then you select you gbc files.

    pretty simple (i barely refrained myself from swearing here)
     
  18. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Do not patch anything with anything except for DLDI patching the lameboy.nds file. Put the patched lameboy.nds file on your card as well as the GBC file. Turn on your DS and launch lameboy.nds, not the GBC file. It will present you with a file listing on the bottom screen, where you select the GBC file to play.

    A few possible things to consider if you're still having troubles:
    1. Are you sure you're copying over the lameboy.nds file and not a text file? Your image shows the "lameboy" file being openable with Notepad, which doesn't seem right.
    2. You say "But the lameboy emulator cannot be find whilslt looking through the games list on my DS." This implies to me that you're running the M3 in GBA mode. You must run it in DS mode for DS programs like Lameboy to be visible. Do you have a passthrough device in slot-1 to let you boot the M3 in DS mode?

    If you don't have a passthrough device, then you can't use Lameboy and you'll have to keep using Goomba Color. If this is the case, be sure to grab the latest goomba.gba file from http://www.dwedit.org/dwedit_board/viewtopic.php?id=229
    Go to the game manager program's folder in your C:\Program Files directory and find the place where the emulator cores are. One of them will be the old goomba.gba file renamed to something else (not entirely sure exactly what it will be called). Delete this one and replace it with the updated goomba.gba file, renaming it so it has the same filename as the file you just deleted.
     
  19. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive managed to do it now, to everyone who helped me, thankyou very much. :-) To some of the other people, just grow up and stop being so bloody nerdy, yeah i didnt understand, but you do...ooh thats bad, jesus christ have you even heard yourself? not everyone learns everything in a heartbeat, people like you put me off asking for help.

    Why do I even bother thinking people are nice enough to help?
     
  20. Nenah
    OP

    Newcomer Nenah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2. Was my problem so i used my R4 to boot from Slot -1, thankyou for all the help you wrote above. [​IMG] really apprecieate it.

    xx
     

Share This Page