Lack of PS2 controller port on PS3 = FAIL

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by deathfisaro, Jul 16, 2008.

Jul 16, 2008
  1. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I got a Beatmania controller, Tatakon (Taiko Drum Master controller) for PS2.
    Hooked up to PS3 via an adapter, launched Taiko Drum Master.

    "Press PS button"

    Well, shit. There's no PS button on tatakon. Tried every button, buncha combinations of buttons, holding START for 2 minutes (not literally), all failed.

    And yet us.playstation.com backwards compatibility list says
    "No major problem with this game."

    So.. Uh.. No controller recognition is not a problem? What, I have to use Dualshock 3 to play Taiko?

    I'm so mad. Like, I haven't been this much pissed in the last 9 years or so.


    Was it really hard to add a PS2 controller slot on PS3, when even compact sized Wii has gamecube controller slots?


    The game itself runs smoothly and looks good. But if I wanted to play Taiko with buttons I'd play the PSP version which even has DLC, instead of looking like a nerd playing a Taiko game with Dualshock 3 listening to Jackson 5's ABC.
     
  2. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    try pressing the "ps button" on the normal ps3 controller when the game ask to press, then try playing the game with the Taiko Drum Master controller
     
  3. Mucuna

    Member Mucuna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil

    I don't think that it would work this way, but I'd definitely try this too.
     
  4. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This would have been the first thing I would have tried to be honest.
     
  5. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Tried that as well. When I press the PS button, my sixaxis/DS3 gets recognized. I go to main menu, there I can see if another controller is getting recognized at the bottom of the screen.
    Yet, pressing everything/anything on tatakon is just sitting ducks.

    I even tried hooking up sixaxis via charge cable and then swapping taiko controller into that same slot. Turning off PS3 controller and re-connecting tatakon still no luck.


    Even asked around gamefaqs PS3 board. Looks like PS2 controllers without "analog" button nor "home/ps" button have no way of activating on PS3.


    I got a couple offers from craigslist and hopefully gonna buy a PS2 tonight. Considering I've spent nearly $200 on Tatakon/bemani con, those two PS2 games, adapters, and shipping, $35~40 more isn't too much.

    If a firmware update in near future fixes this, I would be madly pissed [​IMG]
     
  6. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
  7. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks Bob, but
    I'm buying a PS2 tomorrow. An extra $35 I can live with.
     
  8. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
  9. Sc4rFac3d

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    35 bucks? Thats pretty cheap! If that doesn't work out, there's supposedly an adapter that works with special controllers. Forgot the name though. [​IMG]
     
  10. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Nah ps2 port would be awesomely useless when only half of the ps3's even play ps2 games. Also even if you would have ps2 port, that doesnt magically generate you a home button in the ps2 controller. : ppppppppp
     
  11. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll just use my Super Joybox 3 Pro for hooking up Bemani controller for PC bemani sims.

    I sure don't expect a PS2 Taiko controller to not work with a PS2 [​IMG]
     
  12. michaelf

    Newcomer michaelf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    How would adding a PS2 controller port solve the problem? You still wouldn't have a PS button.
     
  13. Apex

    Member Apex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    èŒšćŸŽçœŒ
    Country:
    Japan
    If the problem is the PS3 recognizing the PS3 controller as player one opposed to the Drum set, why don't you just hit the PS button again in gameplay and switch it to port 2? Seriously, I would try EVERYTHING before shelling out more cash.
     
  14. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Tried that. I've spent an hour trying several dozen crazy things that I can think of.

    An hour is a very long time, I had a Dualshock 3, two SIXAXIS controllers, a PSP w/USB connection, USB keyboard and mouse, a wired 360 controller, and a wireless 360 controller w/USB cable lying around when I concluded it can't be done.



    I don't wanna argue with anybody, but if Sony bothered inserting an EE chip on 60GB (also 20GB) PS3 and they approved of PS2 rhythm game controllers (like Guitar controller, DDR mat, Tatakon, Bemani controller, Drummania controller, and whatever else), omitting a PS2 port isn't an ideal design.

    I feel cheated mainly because us.playstation.com backwards compatibility list said "No major problem". And just to find a major problem associated with it.
     
  15. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I guess it just means there's no problem with the system playing the game itself but hooking the controller up is another story [​IMG] haha
     
  16. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah... The games run well.

    No major problem "running" the game. Major problem "playing" the game [​IMG]
     

Share This Page