1. tabzer

    tabzer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    977
    Country:
    Japan
    Not always? Like screen flashes, or...?

    Is this with 3.2.0 or before? I know Jumpgate has issues that are Jumpgate specific issues, which seems to be not playing well with USB devices. If you have other devices you are trying to use, it'd be good to know what they are.

    Every iteration they have released, and stated improved touchscreen, had testable and observable improvements.

    Try joining the Discord server and work with a dev. Maybe you can find out the solution to your particular issues and contribute to a better build along the way.
     
  2. imx3110

    imx3110 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    India
    I'm using the Jumpgate and it works perfectly for me. (Earlier version didn't).
    Might be the you need a fresh install? I downloaded the 3.2.0 version, flashed it and then applied the update (before booting). Works smooth as heck. Easily the best build yet.
     
    tabzer and IGHOR like this.
  3. IGHOR

    IGHOR Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Pre 3.2.0: no screen flashes, everything works fine, but in one moment it starts ignoring the dock and external monitor, until full reboot. I have reported this few times already.
    3.2.0: just none of my dongle works right on the first boot, and every next one.
    Tested JumpGate, Apple USB+HDMI->USB-C adapter, and Satechi one.
    Yes, Touch screen is much improved then first builds. As I said already, the issue remains with usb mouse connected, so it is actually not related to touch screen. It looks like some Ubuntu bug with a mouse.
    Maybe I really should to report those in Discord instead, and I'll do it, thanks.
     
    tabzer likes this.
  4. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,034
    Country:
    United States
    So, I figured I'd give this a shot, and tried to boot into 3.2.0 now that it just released 11 days ago, and am at a red screen saying that it failed to mount rootfs and that the device will reboot in 10 seconds which, btw, its been more than 10 seconds and I'm still seeing red on the Switch tablet itself. :/

    EDIT: Nvm. The world's always changing around us...
     
    Last edited by Silent_Gunner, Oct 16, 2020
  5. Gavin_Darkglider

    Gavin_Darkglider GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    You are the only person reporting any of these problems. So, assuming you didn't do something wrong, like boot the wrong coreboot, because you didn't delete the old ubuntu boot files, or there is something wrong with your setup.
     
  6. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,034
    Country:
    United States
    So, does the Flycast core in RetroArch just not work on this version of Ubuntu or something? Because any game I try to load, it "fails to load the content" even though everything is set up correctly, just how I have it set up on my PC, with everything being in the right folders.
     
  7. shim80

    shim80 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    France
    Is there a way to upgrade to 20.04.1 without breaking switch packages ?
     
  8. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,034
    Country:
    United States
    This topic's dead nowadays... :(
     
  9. Astrose

    Astrose Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    It says that I'm missing an partition how to I fix this issue

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It says that I'm missing an partition how do I fix this issue.
     
    NRamos likes this.
  10. Ghost92

    Ghost92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    Colombia
  11. groslaine

    groslaine Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    Is there a way to use the joycon as a mouse ? Like having the cursor moving with the joystick ?
     
  12. evil_santa

    evil_santa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Germany
  13. Astrose

    Astrose Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to get steam working on L4T Ubuntu
     
  14. Worldblender

    Worldblender GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    It's unlikely to work; the Steam client is likely in x86 form only, so it won't run native without qemu-user, or a virtual machine. Even if it could run on ARM devices, almost no games found there have binaries that can natively run on ARM devices, unless with emulation (which will have some performance tank).
     
    Silent_Gunner and Astrose like this.
  15. Astrose

    Astrose Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that might be the case. Thanks
     
  16. shim80

    shim80 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    France
    Try this : https://github.com/ptitSeb/box86
    Box86 allow to install wine/steam and launch some x86 software or games. This solution doesn't emulate everything like qemu, some libraries are already compiled for arm, so it's more like partial emulation. It's way more fast than qemu, and some games are working in full speed (Celeste, Shovel Knight, Half-Life, Portal...)
     
    Silent_Gunner and Worldblender like this.
  17. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,034
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone say how effective this is? What's the performance hit it'd inflict? And I take it that Wine would be above the Switch's alcohol tolerance level, if you know what I mean? ;)

    Granted, the code would have to be adapted to work on ARM64 devices, but my understanding is that one could fork what the Box86 dev(s) are doing and go off of what they're doing to make the Switch a cheaper GPD WIN...or would that be GPD LIN?
     
    Last edited by Silent_Gunner, Oct 28, 2020
  18. Yo_Homie

    Yo_Homie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Every time I run apt update I get:
    $ sudo apt update
    [sudo] password for user:
    Get:1 file:/var/cuda-repo-10-0-local-10.0.326 InRelease
    Ign:1 file:/var/cuda-repo-10-0-local-10.0.326 InRelease
    Get:2 file:/var/visionworks-repo InRelease
    Ign:2 file:/var/visionworks-repo InRelease
    Get:3 file:/var/visionworks-sfm-repo InRelease
    Ign:3 file:/var/visionworks-sfm-repo InRelease
    Get:4 file:/var/visionworks-tracking-repo InRelease
    Ign:4 file:/var/visionworks-tracking-repo InRelease
    Get:5 file:/var/cuda-repo-10-0-local-10.0.326 Release [574 B]
    Get:6 file:/var/visionworks-repo Release [1,999 B]
    Get:7 file:/var/visionworks-sfm-repo Release [2,003 B]
    Get:5 file:/var/cuda-repo-10-0-local-10.0.326 Release [574 B]
    Get:8 file:/var/visionworks-tracking-repo Release [2,008 B]
    Get:6 file:/var/visionworks-repo Release [1,999 B]
    Get:7 file:/var/visionworks-sfm-repo Release [2,003 B]
    Get:8 file:/var/visionworks-tracking-repo Release [2,008 B]
    Err:11 http://turul.canonical.com bionic InRelease
    502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    Err:14 http://turul.canonical.com bionic-updates InRelease
    502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    Err:15 http://turul.canonical.com bionic-backports InRelease
    502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    Err:16 http://turul.canonical.com bionic-security InRelease
    502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    Get:18 https://repo.download.nvidia.com/jetson/common r32 InRelease [2,541 B]
    Get:17 https://repo.switchroot.org unstable/ InRelease [1,631 B]
    Get:19 https://repo.download.nvidia.com/jetson/t210 r32 InRelease [2,555 B]
    Get:20 https://repo.switchroot.org unstable/ Packages [1,796 B]
    Get:21 https://repo.download.nvidia.com/jetson/t210 r32/main arm64 Packages [8,084 B]
    Fetched 16.6 kB in 4s (3,912 B/s)
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    5 packages can be upgraded. Run 'apt list --upgradable' to see them.
    W: Failed to fetch http://turul.canonical.com/dists/bionic/InRelease 502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    W: Failed to fetch http://turul.canonical.com/dists/bionic-updates/InRelease 502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    W: Failed to fetch http://turul.canonical.com/dists/bionic-backports/InRelease 502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    W: Failed to fetch http://turul.canonical.com/dists/bionic-security/InRelease 502 Connection refused [IP: 91.189.91.11 80]
    W: Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
    I cannot install any packages. I have tried reinstalling multiple times, running a VPN to CA and a lot of other random things, but cannot figure out what is going on. Any ideas?
     
  19. sergio_prado

    sergio_prado Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm having the same problem. Yesterday I spend almost all the day googling on how to solve this problem, but with no avail. Seems like it is a server issue or something like that, because few days ago it was working fine.
     
  20. Worldblender

    Worldblender GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    Try replacing "turul.canonical.com" with "ports.ubuntu.com"; it may lead to a different server.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - featured, Ubuntu, switch