L4T Lakka Switch - now with audio and Vulkan

logonav.png

Lakka Switch, L4T edition
I am proud to finally release the L4T version of Lakka Switch!
New kernel, new logo, new drivers, audio... everything is fresh and clean.

Did I mention Rayman 3 was full speed on Dolphin? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

General system updates
  • New Linux kernel and underlying operating system, based on Linux4Tegra and Jetson Nano drivers
    • mainline kernel has been deprecated
    • system features should now be on par with the L4T Ubuntu distribution, except for dock support
    • Bluetooth was lost in the battle and needs some rest to come back stronger
  • aarch64 is now the default and mainly supported architecture
    • arm has been deprecated since L4T doesn't support it
  • New logo made with the help of jaames and the R:S community
New features and improvements
  • Audio now works through the internal speakers and headphones
  • The new GPU driver supports both Vulkan and OpenGL
  • RAM is now locked at full speed (1600Mhz), was 800MHz before
  • The system is now way more stable and should boot for everyone with a decent SD card (no more black screen of death)
  • RetroArch has been updated to add menu widgets (fancy onscreen notifications)
  • Overclock profiles have been updated :
    • Renamed all profiles
    • Added more overclock profiles
    • Added underclock profiles
New cores
  • mupen64plus-next (N64 emulator)
    • The core is full speed, even on aarch64 thanks to the new dynarec
    • Includes the updated version of the GlideN renderer
  • picodrive (various Sega consoles)
    • The core replaces Genesis Plus GX (Game Gear support has been dropped)
  • Beetle PSX HW (PSX emulator with OpenGL and Vulkan renderer)
    • The core performs worse than PCSX ReARMed for now, even with Vulkan
  • reicast (Dreamcast emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games, no visual glitches
    • The OIT renderer works (better accuracy), speed is still good on 1x resolution
    • The core needs the Dreamcast BIOS files to be placed in /lakka/storage/system/DC
    • WinCE games are currently not supported - there is a WinCE version of the reicast core in the works but the aarch64 dynarec is too slow for the games to be playable (for now)
  • Yaba Sanshiro (Saturn emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games
    • Yabause and Kronos were also added but both perform worse than Yaba Sanshiro
  • theodore (Thomson MO/TO emulator)
Updated cores
  • Dolphin : Vulkan support
    • With Vulkan, Dolphin runs decently - some games are playable, some are full speed... see for yourself, try it and experiment with different games and settings!
  • PCSX ReARMed : Switch optimizations and CHD support
  • PPSSPP : doesn't crash anymore when closing content
Removed cores
  • mupen64plus
  • parallel-n64
  • Genesis Plus GX
  • Ishiiruka
    • It might come back once the core is updated with the (beta) Vulkan renderer
Credits
  • Kernel and drivers work: NVIDIA, switchroot team (especially ByLaws and langerhans)
  • Lakka Switch work: natinusala and plaidman
  • RetroArch, original Lakka distribution: libretro team
  • mupen64plus-next: Gillou and m4xw
  • PCSX ReARMed: Switch optimizations by m4xw, CHD support by aliaspider
  • Dolphin core: aliaspider
  • reicast core: flyinghead

Download link

The Lakka Switch website has been updated with the new version: https://lakka-switch.github.io/documentation/

Please note that you can't dual boot Ubuntu and Lakka Switch for now (it will always boot Ubuntu).
 

Dave_Chad

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
705
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,895
Country
All seems to be working well except for a weird text bug using Dreamcast core only it seems.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix it? Picture attached.
97ecd747596205e808539c924619a4a5.jpg


Just to be specific, it's when you launch the menu whilst in a Dreamcast game. It doesn't ALWAYS do it. Just sometimes. Pretty irritating though.

Sent from my VOG-L09/Huawei P30 Pro
 

skmp

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
14
Country
Switzerland
Ahoi everyone, after three months of inactivity I am happy to present to you a new Lakka update: Lakka-Switch.L4T.aarch64-2.2-devel-20190728151829-r28534-gbd694f826.tar.gz

Core updates:
  • Reicast has been renamed Flycast
@natinusala, As the maintainer and primary author of Reicast, like to point out that Reicast has been forked, and not renamed. Reicast is independently developed from Flycast. Would be nice if you can update the post to reflect the facts :)
 

Fenderbendr

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
34
Country
United States
For some reason, after updating to this latest Lakka build, I can't select the video and audio drivers in the settings menu anymore. The options to do that are completely gone.

Did they get removed?
 

Shaneus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2006
Messages
117
Trophies
0
XP
427
Country
Australia
Anyone else having speed issues with the Genesis Plus GX core while using Nuked audio? On the core I compiled myself it seemed fine (in the original release), but in this the included one is definitely slower than it should be.
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
I'm also just getting a black screen like some of the other people in this thread. First time using Lakka, using a freshly formatted 32GB SD card formatted in fat32.
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
Your card needs to be formatted with 32k cluster size, I found this out the hard way.
Thanks for the suggestion, just tried it but this didn't work for me, still just getting the black screen. Tried booting it multiple times, plus booting to Horizon before trying it again sometimes too.
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
310
Country
Australia
All seems to be working well except for a weird text bug using Dreamcast core only it seems.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix it? Picture attached.
97ecd747596205e808539c924619a4a5.jpg


Just to be specific, it's when you launch the menu whilst in a Dreamcast game. It doesn't ALWAYS do it. Just sometimes. Pretty irritating though.

Sent from my VOG-L09/Huawei P30 Pro
That happens when you have threaded video enabled when running dreamcast. Disable it.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'm also just getting a black screen like some of the other people in this thread. First time using Lakka, using a freshly formatted 32GB SD card formatted in fat32.
I have a blackscreen after launching the lakka config in hekate. The files are on sd card, and the card is correctly formatted with fat32.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/l4t-lakka-switch-now-with-audio-and-vulkan.538619/page-36#post-8651595

I know its annoying but please take a little time to search through the pages in future ;P this has been mentioned about 10 times through this thread the same solutions are listed many times, you aren't the only ones that have had this problem :).
 

BaamAlex

LED Furzkackleuchte
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
4,381
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Lampukistan
XP
3,743
Country
Germany
That happens when you have threaded video enabled when running dreamcast. Disable it.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



https://gbatemp.net/threads/l4t-lakka-switch-now-with-audio-and-vulkan.538619/page-36#post-8651595

I know its annoying but please take a little time to search through the pages in future ;P this has been mentioned about 10 times through this thread the same solutions are listed many times, you aren't the only ones that have had this problem :).
What has this to do with a blackscreen? Nothing. But i think i found the problem. The space of my sd card is too much. Tried with a 64GB card. Works!
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
310
Country
Australia
What has this to do with a blackscreen? Nothing. But i think i found the problem. The space of my sd card is too much. Tried with a 64GB card. Works!

It is actually has everything to do with a black screen because many people on various switch models have repeatedly got a black screen and cannot boot into lakka using multiple SD cards. This solution has worked every time, if you have found another one that works for you, or your issue is different, good for you. Also you may not want to criticise people that are trying to help you in you future, because your "nothing" comment isn't remotely correct.
 
Last edited by Jackson98,

Freeze1919

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
70
Country
Australia
Has anyone find a solution to get the analog triggers working in Dolphin by any chance?? Trying to play though Mario Sunshine :P. It is possible without, just annoying.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
802
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,138
Country
Will it be possible in the future to add exfat support?

And another question, sometimes I see in videos Lakka xmb menu with console controller icons, and we navigate left and right and select the game below correspondent console. How do I set it that way? Thx
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
310
Country
Australia
Has anyone find a solution to get the analog triggers working in Dolphin by any chance?? Trying to play though Mario Sunshine :P. It is possible without, just annoying.
I tried to find a solution to this multiple times. Their is no workaround at the moment.
The newer verions of Dolphin emulator have an option called "Trigger Threshhold" that ranges between 1-100% anything below 100% emulates an Analog trigger press. Unfortunately we do not have that option in in Lakka yet. However BBOX and Safe Texture options just got added, so their is hope for the future.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

All file system can corrupt your files.


That depends on the exFat driver you use.
Im pretty sure if you use exfat long enough you can definitely corrupt files regardless of what driver. As much as it is a pain transferring everything across and having a 4gb transfer limit(which can be worked around anyway), it isn't worth using exfat. I switched to fat32 never had any regrets. Had 2 SD cards corrupt using exfat, 1 after 6 months and another after several weeks. Ask 95% of the people that use these forums everyone else will tell you the same thing use FAT32 ;). Ive come to think of using Exfat like contracting SD card HIV, sooner or later it will likely get AIDS and die.
 
Last edited by Jackson98,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1017619-blue-butter