L4T Lakka Switch - now with audio and Vulkan

logonav.png

Lakka Switch, L4T edition
I am proud to finally release the L4T version of Lakka Switch!
New kernel, new logo, new drivers, audio... everything is fresh and clean.

Did I mention Rayman 3 was full speed on Dolphin? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

General system updates
  • New Linux kernel and underlying operating system, based on Linux4Tegra and Jetson Nano drivers
    • mainline kernel has been deprecated
    • system features should now be on par with the L4T Ubuntu distribution, except for dock support
    • Bluetooth was lost in the battle and needs some rest to come back stronger
  • aarch64 is now the default and mainly supported architecture
    • arm has been deprecated since L4T doesn't support it
  • New logo made with the help of jaames and the R:S community
New features and improvements
  • Audio now works through the internal speakers and headphones
  • The new GPU driver supports both Vulkan and OpenGL
  • RAM is now locked at full speed (1600Mhz), was 800MHz before
  • The system is now way more stable and should boot for everyone with a decent SD card (no more black screen of death)
  • RetroArch has been updated to add menu widgets (fancy onscreen notifications)
  • Overclock profiles have been updated :
    • Renamed all profiles
    • Added more overclock profiles
    • Added underclock profiles
New cores
  • mupen64plus-next (N64 emulator)
    • The core is full speed, even on aarch64 thanks to the new dynarec
    • Includes the updated version of the GlideN renderer
  • picodrive (various Sega consoles)
    • The core replaces Genesis Plus GX (Game Gear support has been dropped)
  • Beetle PSX HW (PSX emulator with OpenGL and Vulkan renderer)
    • The core performs worse than PCSX ReARMed for now, even with Vulkan
  • reicast (Dreamcast emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games, no visual glitches
    • The OIT renderer works (better accuracy), speed is still good on 1x resolution
    • The core needs the Dreamcast BIOS files to be placed in /lakka/storage/system/DC
    • WinCE games are currently not supported - there is a WinCE version of the reicast core in the works but the aarch64 dynarec is too slow for the games to be playable (for now)
  • Yaba Sanshiro (Saturn emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games
    • Yabause and Kronos were also added but both perform worse than Yaba Sanshiro
  • theodore (Thomson MO/TO emulator)
Updated cores
  • Dolphin : Vulkan support
    • With Vulkan, Dolphin runs decently - some games are playable, some are full speed... see for yourself, try it and experiment with different games and settings!
  • PCSX ReARMed : Switch optimizations and CHD support
  • PPSSPP : doesn't crash anymore when closing content
Removed cores
  • mupen64plus
  • parallel-n64
  • Genesis Plus GX
  • Ishiiruka
    • It might come back once the core is updated with the (beta) Vulkan renderer
Credits
  • Kernel and drivers work: NVIDIA, switchroot team (especially ByLaws and langerhans)
  • Lakka Switch work: natinusala and plaidman
  • RetroArch, original Lakka distribution: libretro team
  • mupen64plus-next: Gillou and m4xw
  • PCSX ReARMed: Switch optimizations by m4xw, CHD support by aliaspider
  • Dolphin core: aliaspider
  • reicast core: flyinghead

Download link

The Lakka Switch website has been updated with the new version: https://lakka-switch.github.io/documentation/

Please note that you can't dual boot Ubuntu and Lakka Switch for now (it will always boot Ubuntu).
 

Drwho0894

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United Kingdom
That is a great idea and I would gladly give my contribute / benefit of it :D

Problem is because of FAT32 we can't test games over 4GB as theres no way of transferring over that amount without splitting and even then you can't extract over 4gb. I was hoping to try Xenoblade Chronicles.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,936
Trophies
2
XP
8,478
Country
Poland
Problem is because of FAT32 we can't test games over 4GB as theres no way of transferring over that amount without splitting and even then you can't extract over 4gb. I was hoping to try Xenoblade Chronicles.
Split and set archive bit? For example with SplitNSP. Rename file extension of your game to nsp, use this script, rename folder to original file extension and set archive attribute for this folder and files inside it... Like in case of NSP.
 

Csmrcc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
416
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
839
Country
Spain
No way, for hours trying to set it right, sometimes it works sometimes not, sometimes after rebooting idk what changes and it doesnt work properly again...i saw that when it is not going to play games correctly (and crash after some minutes of playing) when i press the volume buttons they doesnt make anything.
Seems like incomplete installations or corruption of the installation after some time.
I will wait for another versions and meanwhile try on another sd or lakka from ubuntu.

p.d.: sd 128, fat32, heckate working, oc cpu, vulkan, threated video off and correct game formats
 

Efraim27

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
104
Country
Spain
Very good work !! Now we can play some Gamecube games near full speed and all with sound finally! Ty a lot!!

BTW I cant get the maximum speed in PSX games even with OC 1,7GHz, any tip?
 

Ninn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
479
Trophies
0
XP
1,629
Country
Japan
Very good work !! Now we can play some Gamecube games near full speed and all with sound finally! Ty a lot!!

BTW I cant get the maximum speed in PSX games even with OC 1,7GHz, any tip?

Do you have dithering on? try turning it off.
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
310
Country
Australia
Very good work !! Now we can play some Gamecube games near full speed and all with sound finally! Ty a lot!!

BTW I cant get the maximum speed in PSX games even with OC 1,7GHz, any tip?

Do you use NTSC Isos, they by default run at a higher FPS than PAL, other than that do you have BIOS, should also help for most games.
 

level42

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
43
Trophies
0
XP
273
Country
Canada
Wow, so, even after GCM Utility, and then compressing them to .GCZ, the files are still larger than simply compressing the ISO to 7z ...

Seems like a wasted opportunity, not supporting an existing compression format, in favor of their in house inferior compression ... Unless, there's more to it than I'm missing, performance benefits maybe? Who knows.

Ok, so after all this, L4T still couldn't find the GCZ compressed files, so I simply went back to just raw ISOs.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Do you have dithering on? try turning it off.
This!!! People were complaining about silent hill this was the problem

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

It would be cool to get a compatibility list going too :)
 

Efraim27

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
104
Country
Spain
Do you have dithering on? try turning it off.

I tried now and game speed with OC is perfect, but sound its laggy :_(

Do you use NTSC Isos, they by default run at a higher FPS than PAL, other than that do you have BIOS, should also help for most games.

My ISOs are PAL and use EU BIOS (SCPH5502), but cant run at 50 fps, just 40-45 with OC and dithering on (with it off Silent Hill looks worst)
 

Drwho0894

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone fixed windwaker? I tried even with Docked GPU and CPU set to 1.7 and its still really low fps. But better than stock speeds ofc.
 

Efraim27

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
104
Country
Spain
Use retroarch for that game till a fix comes

Game speed its OK but sound its laggy in some games like Metal Gear Solid too

Anyone fixed windwaker? I tried even with Docked GPU and CPU set to 1.7 and its still really low fps. But better than stock speeds ofc.

Try with stock GPU, CPU at 1,7 OC and 60% core ratio in Dolphin options
 

Drwho0894

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United Kingdom
Tried Xenoblade Chronicles guys. It runs, but at like 12 fps.

CPU Overclock: Max Performance
GPU: Docked +2

Tested in Vulkan and OpenGL
 
Last edited by Drwho0894,

karipoo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 17, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
25
Country
Hungary
Mario Sunshine is ok with CPU Overclock: Max Performance.
Wario World run with full speed, but with bugs. Missing subtitles :wacko:
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Just have sex with your neighbor for tree fitty lol