L4T Lakka Switch - now with audio and Vulkan

logonav.png

Lakka Switch, L4T edition
I am proud to finally release the L4T version of Lakka Switch!
New kernel, new logo, new drivers, audio... everything is fresh and clean.

Did I mention Rayman 3 was full speed on Dolphin? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

General system updates
  • New Linux kernel and underlying operating system, based on Linux4Tegra and Jetson Nano drivers
    • mainline kernel has been deprecated
    • system features should now be on par with the L4T Ubuntu distribution, except for dock support
    • Bluetooth was lost in the battle and needs some rest to come back stronger
  • aarch64 is now the default and mainly supported architecture
    • arm has been deprecated since L4T doesn't support it
  • New logo made with the help of jaames and the R:S community
New features and improvements
  • Audio now works through the internal speakers and headphones
  • The new GPU driver supports both Vulkan and OpenGL
  • RAM is now locked at full speed (1600Mhz), was 800MHz before
  • The system is now way more stable and should boot for everyone with a decent SD card (no more black screen of death)
  • RetroArch has been updated to add menu widgets (fancy onscreen notifications)
  • Overclock profiles have been updated :
    • Renamed all profiles
    • Added more overclock profiles
    • Added underclock profiles
New cores
  • mupen64plus-next (N64 emulator)
    • The core is full speed, even on aarch64 thanks to the new dynarec
    • Includes the updated version of the GlideN renderer
  • picodrive (various Sega consoles)
    • The core replaces Genesis Plus GX (Game Gear support has been dropped)
  • Beetle PSX HW (PSX emulator with OpenGL and Vulkan renderer)
    • The core performs worse than PCSX ReARMed for now, even with Vulkan
  • reicast (Dreamcast emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games, no visual glitches
    • The OIT renderer works (better accuracy), speed is still good on 1x resolution
    • The core needs the Dreamcast BIOS files to be placed in /lakka/storage/system/DC
    • WinCE games are currently not supported - there is a WinCE version of the reicast core in the works but the aarch64 dynarec is too slow for the games to be playable (for now)
  • Yaba Sanshiro (Saturn emulator)
    • The core is full speed on all commercial games
    • Yabause and Kronos were also added but both perform worse than Yaba Sanshiro
  • theodore (Thomson MO/TO emulator)
Updated cores
  • Dolphin : Vulkan support
    • With Vulkan, Dolphin runs decently - some games are playable, some are full speed... see for yourself, try it and experiment with different games and settings!
  • PCSX ReARMed : Switch optimizations and CHD support
  • PPSSPP : doesn't crash anymore when closing content
Removed cores
  • mupen64plus
  • parallel-n64
  • Genesis Plus GX
  • Ishiiruka
    • It might come back once the core is updated with the (beta) Vulkan renderer
Credits
  • Kernel and drivers work: NVIDIA, switchroot team (especially ByLaws and langerhans)
  • Lakka Switch work: natinusala and plaidman
  • RetroArch, original Lakka distribution: libretro team
  • mupen64plus-next: Gillou and m4xw
  • PCSX ReARMed: Switch optimizations by m4xw, CHD support by aliaspider
  • Dolphin core: aliaspider
  • reicast core: flyinghead

Download link

The Lakka Switch website has been updated with the new version: https://lakka-switch.github.io/documentation/

Please note that you can't dual boot Ubuntu and Lakka Switch for now (it will always boot Ubuntu).
 

Mambila2001

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
347
Country
France
Reicast seems to skip frame by itself when he feels like, even if I have frameskip disabled. Anyone knows how to prevent that ?
 

steveo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2015
Messages
114
Trophies
0
XP
312
Country
United States
I can't get lakka to boot, it hangs then turns off. I'm using 128 gb sandisk ultra and have it formatted fat32.
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
310
Country
Australia
That seems to have done the trick. Weird thing is I thought I already disabled it :P must have enabled it self.
Thanks mate :)

Very welcome!

Talking about the FAQ, Im baffled why they recommend not updating your console and using Lakka :P. I wonder if its for banning purposes?

Q: Can you update your Console and still use Lakka

Ans: Can you yes, should you, No....

Surely the majority of people that use Lakka update their switch FW and still use Lakka without problems.
 

beeswax

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
641
Country
United States
I can't get lakka to boot, it hangs then turns off. I'm using 128 gb sandisk ultra and have it formatted fat32.
Same issue here, except with a Samsung Evo Plus 128GB U3 formatted in FAT32. The very first time I tried it, it booted and then froze after a few seconds. Subsequent boots give me nothing but a black screen. If I re-format the SD card and re-copy all the lakka files to it, it tries to boot but gets stuck on the lakka boot logo forever.

I previously used this SD card as my main storage on the Switch before upgrading to a bigger one. I used it to almost full capacity and tested all the games so I know the SD card is good.

edit: just found an older 64GB Sandisk card and that gets stuck on the Lakka boot logo too :(

edit2: I managed to capture a USB boot log over a COM port and have PM'd it to natinusala, hopefully it contains something juicy.
 
Last edited by beeswax,

level42

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
43
Trophies
0
XP
273
Country
Canada
I guess L4T doesn't support compressed roms? I added a few GC roms in 7z format and it wouldn't pick them up. I'm extracting one now to ISO and will test again.
 

hiroakihsu

SUPREME LURKER OF THE WORLD
Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
529
Trophies
0
Location
On the edge of my seat
XP
1,592
Country
United States
Question about shutting down from lakka...In the FAQ, it says to reboot to rcm then boot into horizon to properly shutdown...Would injecting hekate payload after rebooting to rcm and then shutting down from hekate work as well?
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,064
Trophies
1
XP
4,646
Country
Japan
I guess L4T doesn't support compressed roms? I added a few GC roms in 7z format and it wouldn't pick them up. I'm extracting one now to ISO and will test again.
It does, but not in that format.

In Dolphin, compress to .gcz using Dolphin on the PC. You may reduce the size even further by using GCM Utility before doing this. With Wii, convert to .wbfs.

With PS1, Sega CD and some others, convert to .chd. For PSP, use .cso.

Support for compressed formats is core-dependent.[/QUOTE]
 

level42

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
43
Trophies
0
XP
273
Country
Canada
It does, but not in that format.

In Dolphin, compress to .gcz using Dolphin on the PC. You may reduce the size even further by using GCM Utility before doing this. With Wii, convert to .wbfs.

With PS1, Sega CD and some others, convert to .chd. For PSP, use .cso.

Support for compressed formats is core-dependent.

Wow, thanks for the tip sj33. For now I'm going to just use ISO's, but I'll likely compress these all tomorrow when I'm at my home PC.
 

level42

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
43
Trophies
0
XP
273
Country
Canada
Wow, thanks for the tip sj33. For now I'm going to just use ISO's, but I'll likely compress these all tomorrow when I'm at my home PC.


Wow, so, even after GCM Utility, and then compressing them to .GCZ, the files are still larger than simply compressing the ISO to 7z ...

Seems like a wasted opportunity, not supporting an existing compression format, in favor of their in house inferior compression ... Unless, there's more to it than I'm missing, performance benefits maybe? Who knows.
 

Csmrcc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
416
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
839
Country
Spain
Wow, so, even after GCM Utility, and then compressing them to .GCZ, the files are still larger than simply compressing the ISO to 7z ...

Seems like a wasted opportunity, not supporting an existing compression format, in favor of their in house inferior compression ... Unless, there's more to it than I'm missing, performance benefits maybe? Who knows.
"who knows" i imagine that the developers know :D
i bet it is not a matter of whim

NOTE for the people who cant start lakka/games crash etc.:
I tried and reinstalled everything meny times, some of them the screen black, some stopped in the logo, but at the end and after 30 minutes of logo, it started playing fine. So my tip: keep trying (of course fat32, heckate working, oc cpu, vulkan, threated video off and correct game formats)
 
Last edited by Csmrcc,
  • Like
Reactions: level42
D

Deleted User

Guest
silent hill runs full speed with dithering off must be an issue only thing is fog dissapears this didn't happen in retroarch on horizon with dithering on
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: USB C Female to USB Male Adapter 5Gbps,NIMASO Type C to USB A Charger Cable Adapter,Fast...