Hacking Korean Wii: I was the guniea pig

hanguker

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a Korean Wii (3.3K). There is very little testing or information about these guys.
Everyone has been so helpful at gbatemp, so I thought I'd share my experiences with installing various things on my 3.3K Wii.
I am not an expert. I'm just a guy who has tried trial and error and chewed a lot of fingernails.

I have (or have had) installed:

- D2sun chip (shop installed this)
- HBC (Region Free, Gecko, Wad Manager 1.3, Anytitle deleter) (shop installed HBC)
- IOSs for Madworld, et al (via wad manager)
- Preloader 0.29 (Bootmii apparently doesn't work with my Korean Boot1 hash (as tested by the utility from Hackmii), so I had to go with Preloader.
That was the scariest thing to install because it messes with the booting and has a brick warning.)
- Some game and channel Wads (varying success, must be NTSC)
- Usb loader GX (1.0) 320GB ext. HDD + official forwarder **run all games with English language setting for best compatibility**
- I've brick-blocked everything. AFAIK you shouldn't do any game updates. Just download the IOS you need.

I CAN'T GUARANTEE ANYTHING WILL WORK. I CAN'T GUARANTEE NO BRICKS. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR WII.
Though I can't promise anything, everything listed above has worked fine for me. I hope it gives you some peace of mind if you have a Korean Wii.
In my experience, it has been rather robust, and appears to work like any other Wii.

Be careful, RTFMs and good luck.

hanguker

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've heard that it should install fine, but is quite limited in its functionality for brick-proofing. Also, I haven't tried it because I don't have a need.

dlxowhd

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
just avoid koreans wii's like a plague to skip all that headache.
i don't know what the fuck nintendo korea is thinking.