Hacking Kirby's Return to Dream Land White Screen

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,302
Trophies
1
Age
50
XP
2,872
Country
France
Thank you very much for your reply. When you said works, do you mean you can actually create (or load) a save and play the game for a while (e.g. 5 minutes), but not just start the game in SD ?
Yes

Hello,

I tested the game on a "Verbatim 64 GB SD" card.:yay:

With Configurable loader v70 ==> all parameters by default (cios 249 base 56):yaywii:

With Wiiflow 5.4.6 ==> all default settings:yaywii:
(cios 249 base 56)
 

TeenTin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
1,246
Trophies
0
XP
661
Country
Hong Kong
Yes

Hello,

I tested the game on a "Verbatim 64 GB SD" card.:yay:

With Configurable loader v70 ==> all parameters by default (cios 249 base 56):yaywii:

With Wiiflow 5.4.6 ==> all default settings:yaywii:
(cios 249 base 56)

Thanks for your reply. I will get exactly the "Verbatim 64 GB SD" then. Would you please also test Excite Truck in SD too ? Thx a lot !
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,302
Trophies
1
Age
50
XP
2,872
Country
France
Excite Truck does not work on SD with Configurable loader v70 or wiiflow.

I cannot test Excite Truck on USB media (sorry)
 

TeenTin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
1,246
Trophies
0
XP
661
Country
Hong Kong
Excite Truck does not work on SD with Configurable loader v70 or wiiflow.

I cannot test Excite Truck on USB media (sorry)

Thanks for your testing indeed. I can confirm that Excite Truck works on USB perfectly. I just cannot make it work on SD, no matter how hard I tried.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Felix12332

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
221
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
250
Country
Mexico
you know, slot numbers are useless.
you could tell users to use slot248 too, and not everyone installed something in there.
what's important is not the slot number, but what's inside !
if in your slot250 you have "d2x v8 base57" and on his console he installed "d2x v8 base57" in slot 249, then he would have the same result than you using slot250 while he use 249.

don't just give random slot numbers, run syscheck to know what you have in that slot and tell users your content information.


sorry for you.
it should have work.

kirby USA game SUKE01 + gameconfig.txt with kirbyUSA SUKE01 code inside + usbloadergx1271 + hooktype enabled + language english + d2x v8 or v10r52 with base57 (don't use r53, or SD card with wiiflow/CFG loader)
if you use an old version of the loader, you have to enable at least one cheat code to load gameconfig, but now it shouldn't be required. you can try to enable one cheatcode + ocarina option to see if it helps, maybe there's still a bug not loading the config file.
be sure it's named "gameconfig.txt" and you display file extensions, or it could be named "gameconfig.txt.txt"

I attached the files I have :
USA gameconfig
PAL gameconfig
Merged USA+PAL gameconfig

edit: actually, they are also available on geckocodes website.
its telling me i don't have a gct file and honestly this is the first time im doing this so im not really sure what i have to do
 

DDinghoya

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,001
Country
Korea, South
Dear @Cyan,

In my case, When I play "SUKK01 : Kirby Kor" I get a white screen.
(Note that It done in CFG after apply "A, F" function of wiikeychanger on SUKK01.wbfs)

At once, I selected ISO 250 + hooktype enabled + language english + d2x v8... on Usbloadergx1271. But, No exist gameconfi.txt for SUKK01...

Some Korean reported to the community that they applied "A, F" function of wiikeychanger on SUKK01.wbfs, converted back to ISO and applied "m - 56 - u" function of wiikeychanger. It's done for Usbloadergx. Of course I have failed. :)

Any good ideas for this issue?
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,443
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,587
Country
France
if you edit the game, it'll fail to launch.
you are probably using Wii Key changer to reencrypt the partition to remove the korean key?
USBLoaderGX should be compatible with korean keys, no need to reencrypt.

try to play the game on a korean wii, using a korean ISO, and everything else set to korean (default console/game language).
do not apply any cheat, don't force any video mode (set it to console default, instead of disc default), disable hooktype, debug, and all which could affect game patching (aspect ratio, etc.), return to, etc.

Then, try to launch it "vanillla", without any patches, just to see if that game launches at all.

Once it work, you can try to "patch" the game if you find a gameconfig for that version (I don't have it), which would allow you to further patch it (cheats, etc.)

if you only want to play that game, without any patch, then you have to disable everything in the game settings.
 

Griffballchamp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
177
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
490
Country
United States
It's MetaFortress... enabling any of these will cause the game to stop working. (I think Cyan's looking for the Ocarina code to disable the patch protection.)

Code:
videoSelected,
videoPatchDol,
aspectForce,
languageChoice,
patchcountrystring,
vipatch,
sneekVideoPatch,
hooktype,
returnTo,
privateServer

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

@Cyan Here's the file on Wayback Machine: http://web.archive.org/web/20140414184335/http://crediar.no-ip.com/krtdcd.txt

I'm confused, am I supposed to copy and paste all the stuff in that link to my sd card?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,179
Trophies
1
XP
13,858
Country
United States
I'm confused, am I supposed to copy and paste all the stuff in that link to my sd card?
@blackb0x has a text file to disable that protection. iirc, you put it on the root of the sd card. his next build of usb loader gx will negate the need for the text file, I believe. I've tagged him for him to upload it. wait a moment, I think I have it:
 

Attachments

  • gameconfig.txt
    114.1 KB · Views: 7

Griffballchamp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
177
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
490
Country
United States
@blackb0x has a text file to disable that protection. iirc, you put it on the root of the sd card. his next build of usb loader gx will negate the need for the text file, I believe. I've tagged him for him to upload it. wait a moment, I think I have it:
So place this on the root of sd and in game settings change the hooktype to VBI........ or dont change anything?
 
Last edited by Griffballchamp,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,179
Trophies
1
XP
13,858
Country
United States
I'm not sure. afaik, you just need to place it on the root. I haven't tested it myself. you probably need the latest version of usb loader gx's fork, which you can get in that thread.
 

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,105
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,431
Country
Ecuador
Try disabling all cheats, patches, temporal fixes and other custom settings for hacking for Kirby's Return to Dream Land (Kirby's Adventure Wii).

If i'm not wrong it's because of its anti-piracy method "MetaFortress" implemented in the game
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,179
Trophies
1
XP
13,858
Country
United States
Try disabling all cheats, patches, temporal fixes and other custom settings for hacking for Kirby's Return to Dream Land (Kirby's Adventure Wii).

If i'm not wrong it's because of its anti-piracy method "MetaFortress" implemented in the game
the text file should make that unnecessary. I haven't tested the text file, only made a backup of it when @blackb0x uploaded it). however, the method you mentioned is an alternative and what I did after reading a post by @XFlak . game works along with my save which is only at like 10% lol).
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

Griffballchamp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
177
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
490
Country
United States
the text file should make that unnecessary. I haven't tested the text file, only made a backup of it when @blackb0x uploaded it). however, the method you mentioned is an alternative and what I did after reading a post by @XFlak . game works along with my save which is only at like 10% lol).
It didn't work. Still whitescreens after hitting 2 on the menu. Am I supposed to rename the text file to SUKE01 ?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,105
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,431
Country
Ecuador
But keep it on the root of sd or put in codes folder?
It's NOT in the root of the SD.

But, since i don't use USB Loader GX (since i don't own a Wii console xD), i can't say you in what folder must save the text file with the config.

@godreborn, @blackb0x, etc... are you there?
 

Griffballchamp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
177
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
490
Country
United States
Hello,

Are your CIOS, IOS and loaders up to date?

Could you post a syscheck report from your wii please?
I'll admit, I've been away from the scene for a good while. I'm using USBLGX 1271, but I'm only trying to help someone else with this issue and he said his USBLGX version is 3.1.1.1278-master that he said he downloaded from Homebrew Channel. Is HBC being revived/updated?

His CIOS is good, d2x v10 r52
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the meme box appears to be borked
    Gift
  • Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there haven't been new posts in meme box in multiple days despite posts in the thread receiving plenty of likes
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The new forum software did cause some issues with the maymaybox, I remember hearing somewhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I thought that was solved.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    On the phone with att wish me luck
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Why do you love?
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    20 minutes still play jump around with att
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Another 8 minute transfer yay
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    PLEASE HOLD. YOUR CALL IS VERY IMPORTANT TO US. PLEASE CONTINUE TO HOLD.
    Gift
  • ClancyDaEnlightened @ ClancyDaEnlightened:
    in other words *please hang up*
    Gift
  • ClancyDaEnlightened @ ClancyDaEnlightened:
    stop bitching on the phone
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    http://harmful.cat-v.org/software/OO_programming/ <- OOP allows a generic build to scale approach to solve problems. And compatibility. In my experience an API/Shared Libraries by being encapsulated, is less likely to get optimized/destroyed by the compiler, specifically in embedded platforms.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    No doubt it will be slower, but if you can and have the resources to hand-optimize away the code
    , do it.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    If you dont bitch nothing will get done correctly
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    Also allows to separate pieces in components: Init, update, destroy, which enables the whole program to be inheritable. If you're creating a first person shooter, and want to add multiplayer, you will have to use OOP regardless.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    and forget about memory management
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember when you had to write your code exactly or things would just break instantly lol 48K was all you had on an Apple IIe and that was with added RAM ai think... Forgot so much over the years lol
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Back when Apple included a programming manual in the box...
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, psi gets it. Imagine building a 3D game and the compiler/linker breaks your code because you didn't order the data in a certain way
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yeah I dimly recall if your have the compiler set to optimize too agresively things can get crazy
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like setting it really high can work but sometimes requires rewrite of code and that's if the error spat out makes any sense
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I used to be great at finding nested loop logic error
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember finding a bug in some C++ code for a company and they sent me a watch and some money it was cool
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    nice
    Gift
    Coto @ Coto: nice