Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Game Freezing

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by GeminiSX, Oct 1, 2009.

Oct 1, 2009
  1. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using an R4, with a ROM hex-edited according to those instructions. The game's worked fine for me so far, until I reached Day 357. For some reason, the game seems to freeze a few seconds after the fight begins. The music continues to play normally, but everything else is frozen. Has anyone else had trouble with this? Is there another viable fix (maybe an AR code?) that I could try?
     


  2. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    What Firmware is on your R4? Is it an R4 clone or anything, whats your R4 look like?
     
  3. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's using Moonshell firmware. I'm almost 100% sure it's a legit R4, it's worked fine for everything else up to now (have had it for at least a couple years now). It looks like a typical DS cart, black, with a silver/black/gray label. "R4" "Revolution for DS" "(NDSL/NDS)" is written on silver letters, and there's some silverish dots forming a wave-like pattern on the right side.

    2 GB Micro-SD Card.

    EDIT: When I checked, there's a folder called "moonshl" on my MSD card. I'm guessing that's the firmware. If there's more than one version, I don't know where to check...
     
  4. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    What firmware?
     
  5. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Sounds like a DSTT Clone though... Probably Kernel 1.18 is your firmware, i have the same one but its R4 Upgrade Revolution. Whats the website on the card?
     
  6. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    There's no website listed on the card. Let me see if I can find the box it came in.

    EDIT: The box it came in is black with "R4" in dark-green letters. Below it says "R4, Revolution for DS, (NDSL / NDS)", same as the actual card. Underneath that, it says "http://www.r4ds.com" and "MicroSD USB 2.0"
     
  7. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    would you be willing to back up all your firmware files and try a new firmware on your card?
     
  8. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Very willing. Which would you suggest?
     
  9. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    make sure you back up your firmware then delete the firmware off the card, i dont wanna be help responsible for corrupting your card or anything DX
    The site on my card is www.r4i-sdhc.com

    Go there, and On the menu bar click downloads and download the first thing on that list
    Should be called.... R4i English 1.11b, Download from the USA link, and extract and put those files on your card.

    I know it says R4i, But im not using a R4i, But it still works.
    Give it a try and let me know what happens

    INSURE YOU BACK UP YOUR OLD FIRMWARE
     
  10. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    i hope it wont freeze on me on that day. that'll suck big time [​IMG]
     
  11. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    What card are you using?
    It sounds like an R4 Problem cause like, ive NEVER heard of it before on any other card
     
  12. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    K well I tried installing the new firmware but it says "Couldn't find _DS_MENU.DAT." What am I supposed to do about this?
     
  13. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Umm O_O
    Did you make sure you removed all the old Stuff off, That includes stuff like the R4.dat folder and stuff, ALL old firmware needs to go bye bye and the new ones need to go in
     
  14. DsHacker14

    Member DsHacker14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Livingston, TX.
    Country:
    United States
    i tried the fix you posted in the first post and it doesnt work for my AK2i.. still freezes after i get to "day 7"
     
  15. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    That's strange, I gave the patched ROM to my little brother, he's gotten to day 350 or so just fine. He hasn't quite made it to 357 yet so he can't tell me if the problem is with the ROM though.
     
  16. aimansss95

    Member aimansss95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    malaysia
    Country:
    United States
    Mine work just fine.
    waht firmware are you using?
     
  17. Clydefrosch

    Member Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,640
    Country:
    Germany
    ...before you do all that weird stuff, reload and repatch and reput the game back to your card... if the musics still playing, it might just be a unsuccessful transfer to your card, happend to me on several cutscenes but worked fine after I got a new rom


    this kind of thing sometimes happen with big roms like this, chance for a broken bit to be transfered is comparably high
     
  18. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    hmmm, this si quite strange, Am i able to get a picture of your R4 Card?

    EDIT: Clydefrosch makes a good point, Try get a new rom, and put on your old firmware and see what happens
     
  19. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'll try restoring my original firmware and try this.

    An update on what I tried to do... well, since the stupid card was demanding a menu file, I went to the backup and retrieved the menu (and ONLY the menu). Then I tried it, and the card worked... it now looks exactly the same way it did before. I tried to browse for games, and it finds the firmware folders I just added... I'm pretty sure that's not supposed to happen.

    Is there anything on the actual R4 cart? Or perhaps there's something on the MSD card that I can't see? I'm thoroughly confused at the moment.
     
  20. GeminiSX
    OP

    Newcomer GeminiSX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I think that fixed it...
     

Share This Page