Just some questions on my supercard DS1

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Blightfire, Jan 18, 2007.

Jan 18, 2007
  1. Blightfire
    OP

    Newcomer Blightfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Singapore
    I just got a SCDS1 recently and I noticed that everytime i start the DS, there's this error that appears momentarily saying if my sd is not formatted or something, it goes away in about a second... didn't have a devasting effect, just curious to know if this is a problem.

    Also, does the os have some functionality that resets whatever modifications I do with the .savs? I can replace a .sav and it'll auto revert to the old one sometimes... is there anyway of disabling this feature?

    Thanks,
    Blightfire
     
  2. callandor

    Newcomer callandor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Singapore
    that's normal it's just a moonshell bug u can ignore that.

    not too sure about .savs though
     
  3. Blightfire
    OP

    Newcomer Blightfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Singapore
    I see, thanks. Is there any reason why my ff3 crashes ocasionally for no reason?
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Most flashcarts write save data to temporary memory area while the game is running, and only copy the data to the save file after you turn the system off and back on, or soft reset. I don't know for sure if the SCDS1 works like that, but it sounds like that's what is happening. If so, the solution is to go into the SCDS1 menu (either by powering off then back on or by soft resetting) so it can write the data to the file before you do anything with your save files.
     
  5. neekstan

    Newcomer neekstan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can confirm that the SCDS1 deals with saves like destructobot said above. SCDS1 doesn't have a soft reset though so you'd have to power off and on to have the save written to the .sav file.
     
  6. TheRocK

    Member TheRocK GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Germany
    That's exactly how the Supercard DS works.
     
  7. Blightfire
    OP

    Newcomer Blightfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Singapore
    Thanks for the replies, but any reason why my ff3 crashes? Castlevenia crashes too but thats quite understandable... I'm using a kingston 1gb set to 30
     
  8. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States

    It has a LOT to do with your flashcard, the speed setting & the SAVE game file size when you look at the info of that ROM in the menu. There are PLENTY of other posts on this. Just skim down the SuperCard section of this forum.
     
  9. Wishmaster

    Newcomer Wishmaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    I don't own SC DS, and I've never used one, but I've read it somewhere that 28 is the magic number.
     
  10. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States

    Good idea but that is a SD card speed setting & it doesn't work for a LOT of games or cards. It depends a LOT on the microSD brand. Read the other posts to see.
     

Share This Page