Just purchased a wii, what do i need for homebrew?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by paul3100, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi all

    So as the title says " what do i need to get homebrew running " ?

    I want to be able to play all homebrew/emulators/games and so on

    I also would like to be able to play GC and Wii backups but not so important as emulators.

    Can i get away with playing homebrew without the need to purchase anything?

    Any info on what i need and where to purchase in needed thank you.

    PS: sorry to start this new thread knowing all info is some where or other but i want to start from the beginning :-)

    cheers, paul
     
  2. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Well, whatever you do, don't read the stickies. Especially the thread that says "Get Homebrew up and running using the Twilight Hack." It's generally a bad idea to search, or even skim the forums before asking something. The other already-established threads are full of lies. Don't listen to them.
     
  3. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol i knew someone would say it! , tbh i just ordered the wii and am too lazy to look around but seen as you put it in such a sarcastic wai i shall go look cause i don't want to upset anyones feelings by daring to ask whats probably the most commen question regarding the wii.

    And anyway people love answering questions they know, makes them feel good just as what you said probably makes you feel good iritegood!

    paul
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Not here at gbatemp, we have our stickies and guides. Lol [​IMG]
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Or just do what we're (not) good at here on GBAtemp:
    SEARCH
     
  6. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok sorry guys, just the exitment of getting a wii made me make this thread!

    Please delete this thread someone :-)

    EDIT: just a quick question , is this any good and do i need anything to go with it and what can it do for me?

    DX
     
  7. upbumpo190

    Member upbumpo190 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The 5th dimension
    Country:
    France
    The link you posted, is for a Deal extreme SD gecko copy, which says WiiKey, but I'm not so sure about that. It's not a memory card but is a homebrew tool, for dumping games, running .dols, etc.

    I'm not sure if it's compatible with current homebrew, so just Google search it / and search SD Gecko to find out what you can do with it.

    There is some more info on the site, just scroll down the page and read a bit.

    I personally wouldn't recommend it, since you have the homebrew channel for stuff like that, ut if you want something like it, then get a USB Gecko, which IMO is 10x better.
     
  8. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    What you'll need to have :

    SD Card... most digital cameras have these... if you don't have a full size SD card under 2.1gig (meaning anything from 128meg to 2gig will work), you'll have to buy one... they are like $10 at your local big box retailer.

    Legend of Zelda : The Twilight Princess... yes, you need this game. But only once (or twice). Buy it if you can, but if you can't, you can rent it for a night or two.

    Softmii 2.1.1 -- I know you don't like to do this, but SEARCH... find it, and get it...
     
  9. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thank you guys for the info, i was afraid i would need to get a game for the hack but zelda is a good game so i could just purchase it anyway....on the psp they patched later version of games with the same sort of hacks so would this be the case with zelda do you think?

    anyway cheers guys.

    paul
     
  10. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Well, since they'd have to recall and repress the discs... not sure...

    Plus, the bug was found so deep, it would take a complete rewrite of the code to fix it...

    You'll be fine!
     
  11. upbumpo190

    Member upbumpo190 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The 5th dimension
    Country:
    France
    All versions of Zelda TP work, (There is only one per region).

    Go to http://softmii.org/, download the newest package (Link), in which inside, there are instructions on how to install.

    Like zidane said, just go out and buy zelda, and all you need after that is an internet connection to download the softmii package.

    It is a user friendly all in one guide, with pretty much everything in it (Wii backup loader, Gamecube backup loader, downgrader if you've a Wii with the System menu verison 3.3, or 3.4, homebrew channel, etc.)

    Have fun with your Wii, don't tire your self out too much with it! [​IMG]
     
  12. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol ill try not too but i can't prommise!

    Shame though you need zelda for it to work, looked on ebay and its anything from £30 up!

    cheers , paul
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,488
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I just rented it. It was easy and cheap. [​IMG]
     
  14. Rebound

    Member Rebound GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    Australia
    Demodulation etc.

    [​IMG]

    Nah you need Twilight Princess, and SD Card
     
  15. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just received my wii with wii sports (sore arm already lol!) and am going to rent zelda from that film4 website but before that comes what can i do with my wii?

    I only have 1 control pad (one on the way) ,1 and 2 gig sd cards

    The firmware is 3.4e (i think)

    Yeah so was hoping to run some sort of anything till the game arrives if there is anything please let me know.

    cheers , paul
     
  16. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    No zelda = no homebrew
    but there are some things to do online (shop) or use one of the free downloadable channels
     
  17. rikuumi

    Member rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    use search button..
     
  18. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its here , its queer and its running on the wrong gear !!!

    Actually its me running on the wrong gear after trying out the running game on wii fit, didn't know i was so unfit lol

    Actually thought i had ordered the wii fit board but mario cart came instead which is fine so went straight out to get the wii fit [​IMG] , bmi is 19.?? .

    Anyway look forward to helping other " new " wii owners in the future once i get to grips with softmodding in a day or 2

    rikuumi wrote:
    Thank you for that!
     
  19. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,529
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Weel if ye actually used th' search tae fin' whit ye wanted it woods lae aw us tempers tae help other fowk. i bide in hiner 'at postin' thes in yer ain leid will be ay help.
     

Share This Page