Just installed the mod chip. How can I test to see if it works.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cluey, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello.
    I just installed a solderless d2pro chip. I tested with an original and it works. How can I test with burnts, but I havent got any burnt discs to test with.
    Any ideas? Thanks.
     


  2. Nineveh

    Newcomer Nineveh Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Make a backup of your original game?
     
  3. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    I havent got a LG drive. Is there any programs that I can use to backup the game in the wii console?
     
  4. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Download an ISO, possibly?

    If you don't have the ability to copy games, why did you get a drivechip?
     
  5. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    I have burnt the Homebrew Channel ISO and inserted it in the wii. I get an error prompting. "An error has occurred. Press the Eject button and remove the disc, then turn the Wii console off and refer to the Wii Operations Manual for help troubleshooting." I tried burning with 2 types of DVD's an still get an error. Can it be Region error because I used EUR iso since I come from Australia or the chip didn't install successfully. I will probably reopen the wii and repress the chip.
     
  6. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Erm, wchich soft you have? 3.2 or 3.3?
     
  7. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    I have got 3.1E. If I need to update, is there like an offline installation or something because I have got Dial Up.
     
  8. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, wait.
    Download iso (like Zelda:TP), burn it and tell if it works.
     
  9. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try "getting hold of" a GameCube game like Luigis Mansion (126mb) and see if that works!
    oh and by the way Ozzie Wii's are PAL so you did burn right iso.
     
  10. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    Well I thought that EUR iso works for my Wii because EUR Wii are PAL. I actually didn't think to get a GC rom. I will try it. Thanks.
     
  11. Kiljaeden

    Member Kiljaeden GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Does the configuration disc work? Should take a second to download, a second to burn and you'll know if it reads burnt discs.
     
  12. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    Where abouts can I get a configuation disc. LM is at 6%, 16 hours left.
     
  13. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm pretty sure Animal Crossing is small at about 16 meg.
     
  15. cluey
    OP

    Newcomer cluey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    I downloaded and run Config disc. IT WORKED... Thanks all for helping. (What a relief.)
     
  16. Phinxy

    Newcomer Phinxy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Congratz, But what the hell do you use your modchip for if not for backing up games? :confused:
     
  17. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    Region Free. [​IMG]
     
  18. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Freeloader. GeckoOS. [​IMG]
     
  19. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know about Wii burning but for PS2 you need to burn at like 2.4x and use good disks.
     
  20. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    same goes for wii, 2x is said to be best, even though I do like 4-8x with no DRE
     

Share This Page