Just Installed Switch To My Wii :) (wiikey)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tomqman, Mar 7, 2008.

Mar 7, 2008
  1. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i just installed a switch into my wii and it works great it was a quick and easy job

    all you need to do is wire the switch between the wiikey and board on the red connection
    [​IMG]




    heres my wii all done the switch is the blue wire

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    and the case [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     


  2. ricadoe

    Newcomer ricadoe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Good job. Later please let us know whether ori SBBB works or not. thanks
     
  3. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice work. Where did you buy the switch? i'm trying to buy one online but i can not find one anywhere.

    EDIT: and what if you get a switch which has three pins, do you just ignore the middle pin?
     
  4. duncans_pumpkin

    Newcomer duncans_pumpkin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If its three pins ignore one of the side pins.
     
  5. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    How are you going to thread it so it goes outside?
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you buy a switch online, the postage will be more than the component. Just go to an electronics shop, they cost almost nothing.

    Salamantis: Through the side vents? Above the USB ports? Have you ever opened your Wii? There's many places it could go.
     
  7. taggart6

    Member taggart6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    They are $3 at Radio Shack. I grabbed one yesterday but I couldn;t find my tri-wing screwdriver. HAd to order a new tri-wing which won't be in till next week. :sigh:
     
  8. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i got it for £1.89 from maplins. and i took the bottom dust cover off and it pokes out there causing no damage to the case. and it also hides it away in the stand. i dont have a real copy of brawl yet [​IMG] or dvd9 so cant test that. but have test it and when i switch if it off my backups dont read and then they do when its on [​IMG]


    Updated Photos at First Post
     
  9. DcThePurger

    Newcomer DcThePurger Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    what is this switch called and what materials do you need for the job? also how long does it take to install one?
     
  10. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    What's the whole point of a switch?
     
  11. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    To enable or disable a modchip.
     
  12. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of cutting my Wii or doing other stupidity, I just wired my switch out of the little slot for the white plastic flaps where the GameCube ports are. It hangs out the top of the Wii, looks terrible, but it does it's job.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    whats the circled one for?
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Skull Kid

    Newcomer Skull Kid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Is this absolutely the only way to disable a Wiikey without removing it? If so, would it be worth it to install a switch just for Brawl or just wait for a Wiikey update if it is close?
     
  15. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its just a cheap switch from any electronics store
    you need some thin wire (cant remeber the type of wire lol), soldering iron, solder, tri-wing screwdriver, small phillips screw driver and skill.
    it takes about 10-20 mins
     
  16. HipN

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I am getting someone to install a switch for my Wiikey. Geting back my Wii on Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  17. Everlong

    Newcomer Everlong Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Great pictures. Will surely help some people.
     
  18. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just in time for a good old brawl [​IMG]
     
  19. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Go to your local electronic store they will have thousands of switches
     
  20. FoulPlay

    Member FoulPlay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page