Just installed Homebrew Channel on a friend's 4.0 LU64 Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The Frenchman, May 24, 2009.

  1. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    I need help installing any backup launcher or any other regular wads... is there any way I can do this, I've been searching for the past hour and can't find a way to do this.

    EDIT
    SUCCESS

    My method:
    -Install Bannerbomb
    -Make wad manager 1.3 boot.dol on sd root.
    -Install IOS35-64-v1040.wad through bannerbomb with wad manager.
    -Install CIOS (personally used REV7)

    Now that cios is available you can run more stuff from HBC or any booting method, you can also install new cios via network and you won't get ticket error, same for regular game wads, you no longer need bannerbomb.

    This was done on a 4.0 LU64 Wii (no hack whatsoever installed beforehand)
     


  2. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    You can't LU64 and up are said to be unhackable, you'll brick his wii if you try it probably.
     
  3. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried installing cios, didn't work... tried oot.wad didn't work, can,t I install IOSes with earlier version by installing them as wads?
     
  4. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  5. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    I heard you can't downgrade a lu64 wii...
     
  6. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    If I were you. Wait for the 4.0 fix because I dontthink they can be downgraded without causing a brick, also, shouldn't this guy install bootmii first? Backup his NAND?
     
  7. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I may be wrong.. but I thought if lu64+ came with 3.4.. it could be downgraded to 3.4..

    you are treading in dangerous water just so you know...

    yeah bootmii is great.. but how the heck you gonna install it?!?!
     
  8. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    they seem to be blocking the tickets mostly...
     
  9. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    can I use bannerbomb? I used that to get homebrew channel...
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    How'd you manage to get the HBC installed? i thought the HackMii installer hasn't been working on 4.0 LU64 wii's.
     
  11. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    this is probably a really stupid question.. but I got in trouble for flaming people who ask stupid questions..so I figure its ok for me to ask one! but I searched and couldn't find the answer...

    if you have an LU64 wii that comes with 3.4 from the factory... does a wii system format restore it to 3.4 or stay on 4.0 if you upgraded?

    if you can install bootmii as boot2.. I would do that before I messed with anythign else as was mentioned above!

    use bannerbomb to trun the hackmii installer from http://bootmii.org
     
  12. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    I used banner bomb to load wad manager and installed an old ios35 and then installed HBC with the same wad manager.

    doesn't bootmii replace the system original dashboard?
     
  13. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. I was under the impression that LU64's can't run downgraded IOS's. I know that there are some LU64's that are hackable like normal wii's. Perhaps you have one of those.

    Either way, if you were able to install the HBC as a wad you might be able to install the LU64 fix the same way.
     
  14. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
  15. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    The two thing you can't do on LU64+ Wii's are:

    Installing .wad files
    using a program that recurs to a cIOS because of some call ES_Identify_something.blah has been patched.

    but you should try to use the fix where certain program allows you to install the IOS36-64-v1042, maybe that works, I dont' know for sure [​IMG]
     
  16. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States

    no.. if you acn install bootmii as boot2.. it sits in front of everything else... its great.. you can enable autoboot if you want by editing the ini file...

    (plug in your gamecube controller or use eject and reset buttons for navigation)
     
  17. The Frenchman
    OP

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    how come I was able to install the hbc wad? and IOS wad?

    what would it allow me to do? because this isn't my wii and my friend doesn't have an sd to load apps all the time and dumping his nand here wouldn,t do much because he's not going to mess with it anymore...
     
  18. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada

    It's actually the power button to navigate and the reset button is a. Eject as far as I know does nothing. Anyways, I have no idea how you were able to install the Hbc via wad, also are you using the yafaze.com guide?
     
  19. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the Wii isn't "unhackable." A way to test that would be to install cIOSRev10 (using Wad Manager running off of IOS35) and then test some application that uses cIOS. This shouldn't brick your Wii since IOS249 is independent of Nintendo's firmware. If you find that Rev10 doesn't work, try installing the LU64fix.wad from SoftMii and try again.
     
  20. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Right I forgot to ask what ios are you using for wad manager?
     

Share This Page