Just installed DARKCORP, still can't read Metroid

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Tranquil, May 12, 2010.

May 12, 2010
  1. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know what's up with this? I wanted to get my dual-layer burn of Metroid Prime Trilogy to work (I know the burn is fine, I used to be able to get to the title screen and it works on my friend's chipped Wii) and I figured installing DarkCORP would get it to read, but for some reason in the disc channel it says Unable to read the disc. Other games now load directly from the disc channel which is nice though, but I have no idea why Metroid doesn't. Any ideas?
     
  2. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
  3. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,168
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe ur laser is fucked, or preloader setting/region mis-match?

    Code:
    Metroid Prime TrilogyÂÂÂÂÂÂPALÂÂÂÂÂÂR3MP01ÂÂÂÂÂÂYesÂÂÂÂÂÂ-ÂÂÂÂÂÂ55ÂÂÂÂÂÂ735C0D0C16177E3294F5E0FAF7A69571ÂÂÂÂÂÂ1:1 dump. Haven't verified it against another copy's MD5 yet.ÂÂÂÂÂÂTeam DARKÂÂÂÂÂÂ-ÂÂÂÂÂÂ4.2E, preloader, English lang, PAL video mode
     
  4. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think anything is wrong with my laser, only because a bit before installing DarkCORP I was sometimes able to load Metroid I just couldnt start the games because of the IOS switching. And I don't have preloader installed...
     
  5. Dispel

    Member Dispel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Latvia
    sometimes ?


    something hardware related I think
     
  6. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well, if it was only sometimes reading before DARKCORP, then it sounds like a hardware issue to me, either the disc or the laser.

    If the sysmenu says "Unable to Read Disc" then it is definetely not a DARKCORP problem.

    I have a copy of PAL MPT and it works fine for me.


    Do other games still work fine?

    Do you have a burned copy of Super Smash Bros. Brawl?
    If so try that (since it's also a Dual Layer game). If it has the same problems as your MPT copy, then it is definetely the laser.

    You are using verbatim DVD+R DL discs for DL wii backups, right?
    If not, try verbatim DVD+R DL discs (make sure you tell your burning software to set the layer break to 2084960).

    ...maybe try the official Nintendo Wii Lens Cleaner Kit to try to clean your laser?
     
  7. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Nono, I meant sometimes because my Wii was hacked at 3.2 and I was able to load backups (this is when I could get to the title screen of MPT just unable to pick a game), then my friend came over, installed BootMii, and then he made my Wii up to date using the stuff in the stickied guide. Now I'm at 4.2 with DarkCORP and am unable to load the game through DarkCORP or even get to the title screen again using the loaders. I am pretty sure it is not a laser problem. I also have the Metroid Prime 1 Wii Controls version that was only released in Japan, and that used to get to the title screen and now it doesn't do that either (and the game is not dual layer).

    As for what I'm using, it is burned onto an 8x Verbatim DVD+R DL, although for the reasons I said before, I am pretty sure that there is nothing wrong with the burn. However, my burn is of a NTSC Metroid Prime Trilogy, not PAL. Perhaps that has something to do with it?

    Hope that clears everything up.
     
  8. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Bump, does nobody have any ideas? I'm at a complete loss here.
     
  9. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    If the MPT disc matches your Wii's version (which is probably NTSC-U, according to your profile's flag), then it shouldn't be a problem.

    BTW, I have mine (NTSC-U, proper ISO) burned on a lower quality media (Memorex 2.4x DVD+R DL), and it works fine using DARKCORP (although I doubt that your media is the problem).
     
  10. 4ndy

    Newcomer 4ndy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Gee your shouldn't let your friend hack your wii if he doesn't know what hes doing.
     
  11. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Well everything works fine, it's just this one thing...maybe it's something to do with BootMii? I honestly have no idea. Anyone have any kind of solution or hypothesis? I don't mind trying stuff out and then reverting to a previous NAND backup if it doesn't work out....
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    are you using region free hacks via priiloader?
     
  13. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You could try cIOSCORPv3.5Extra IOS55-v5149-v3.5-rev13_DIP.wad to run the game
     

Share This Page