just got wode for my wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by blackbunny, Aug 17, 2010.

Aug 17, 2010

just got wode for my wii by blackbunny at 2:47 AM (1,595 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. blackbunny
    OP

    Newcomer blackbunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Australia
    so i finally have a wode installed in my wii.

    is there a noob guide as to what cool things i can do to my wii? do i need a backuploader?
     
  2. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    OOOO awesome! Let me know how that works.
     
  3. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    Download the WODE guide HERE
     
  4. blackbunny
    OP

    Newcomer blackbunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Australia
    ok so i can run gc games with a hdd loader, which was the only reason i got this.

    is there any other cool things that can be done with this?

    what im trying to say is other than gc hdd loader is there any difference to softmod?
     
  5. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    AFAIK there are some games that don't work on all USB loaders (eg. Call of Duty 3) that still work on Wode because it emulates the optical drive (read: tricks Wii into thinking it's a disk).
     
  6. blackbunny
    OP

    Newcomer blackbunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Australia
    just discovered wode does not support vc games.

    how can i run vc games? firmware 4.0e
     
  7. pollocktrance

    Newcomer pollocktrance Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe he wants to download games he already owns, as we all know the function of ripping is not implemented yet. Opens the door to a whole series of problems such as ISO, which has been downloaded are of unknown origin was unknown place. Stick with your information.
     
  8. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    You can rip Wii and GC games on WODE Firmware 2.00 and above. (Have been able to do so for months now) BETA2.2E seems to break ripping so stick with 2.1 / 2.1A. The difference between the two is 2.1 allows ripping to NTFS, EXT3 and FAT32 whereas 2.1 only allows ripping to EXT2 and FAT32.

    You can rip games straight to ISO or WBFS file format.
     
  9. w!!

    Member w!! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    I'm able to play Call of Duty 3 and have been for a while... granted, I'm only on chapter 2 "The Island" and don't play it much, but it works for me. I'm using Uloader and Hermes cios v5. Though I know it worked with v4 too. I actually haven't found a game that doesn't load using uloader or neogamma. Granted some may require Alt Dol loading.

    Edit: Posting this, because I've seen other people say they can't play COD 3 either...
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]
    I plan on buying the Wode.

    What do you mean by VC Games? The ones released on the Shop Channel?
    If so, you need a WAD Manager.
     
  11. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Already finished it...!! ;)
     

Share This Page