Just got my cart! Couple of questions :)

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by crimsonnight, Mar 30, 2011.

Mar 30, 2011
  1. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To start with, I'm using it on a 3DS with the latest firmware (both on the cart & system)

    1. My main concern is with the SNES emulator - it just freezes when I select 'select games'. I have the roms present as .zip files in the correct folder. How do I fix this?

    2. I extracted DS2Tools to the root of the cart as suggested but it doesn't show up in the menu. Works fine when running as a DS rom, but is there a way to have it included in the main menu (like in the screenshot included on the download page)

    Thanks for your time!
     
  2. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    im guessing you don't have the NDSSFC folder at the root with all of the proper files in it, they cannot be inside of another folder (or if you are using BAGSFC, u need a BAGSFC folder, and the same with CATSFC)

    download ds2tools from here and extract all of the files into your _dstwoplug folder
     
  3. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NDSSFC is extracted on the route of the card as instructed by the official plug-ins section, GBA emu works fine...

    Cheers, DS2Tools is now on my menu [​IMG]

    Really wanna get SNES working though so any advice would be appreciated. Also is there anyway to play NES roms?
     
  4. viz

    Member viz neckbeard

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
  5. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    for NES, download this and this and extract them both to your _dstwoplug folder

    for SNES try CATSFC
    Installation for CATSFC: Place catsfc.plg, catsfc.bmp, and catsfc.ini in the _dstwoplug folder of your DSTWO. Place the CATSFC folder in your dstwo's root folder (the one that contains _dstwo, _dstwoplug, etc).
     
  6. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help, but both the NES and new SNES emulators freeze whenever I select the directory that contains their ROMS (.zip files) [​IMG]
     
  7. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    extract the games out of the .zip files, SNES should be .sfc and NES should be .nes
     
  8. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sry, i was unzipping everything as i wrote the last message (i have complete rom sets so it takes a while T_T) - nope, still freezes [​IMG]
     
  9. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    They most commonly are .smc
     
  10. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    well you could just rename the extension, it would be to same, but just curious, are you talking about SNES or NES?
     
  11. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both SNES & NES emulators freeze when trying to access the directory the roms are stored in [​IMG] GBA's totally fine (again, I'm using a complete, zipped rom set)
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Some emulators have a limit to the number of files they'll see in a directory (255 IIRC). Sort your stuff into alphabetical folders or something.
     
  13. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was thinking that, I'll give it a shot tonight [​IMG]

    If someone could confirm that there is in fact a limit, and also whether or not the NES/SNES emulators can read .zip files that would be great [​IMG]
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if the SNES emulator can read a ZIP file, as memory on the DS is extremely limited. The NES one is more plausible since NES games are so small to begin with.
     
  15. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it can handle GBA zips though which are more sizable aren't they?
     
  16. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There is no such thing as GBA ZIPs.
     
  17. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Each .gba rom has been zipped into seperate .zip files and runs fine on the GBA emulator
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but it's not like these emulators are made by the same authors.
     
  19. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    yes there is, and they work fine on NDSGBA, just put the .gba into a .zip archive
     
  20. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then he should've said "GBA ROMs in ZIPs"
     

Share This Page