Just got acekard 2i but my DS lite wont read it...HALP!

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by quaxon, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    This is very frustrating but i just recieved my acekard 2i and i tried to use it with both the official firmware as well as aiko and both times i just get the touch screen menu, the cart doesnt load like it should. I had an r4 and that still works and reads on it so i know its not my sd card or DS. Can someone please help? Also im pretty sure its not a clone as i got it from one of the sites recommended from the acekard site. Oh yea i also tried putting a small piece of paper behind the card and still no luck.
     
  2. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
  3. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I looked through his posts and all but still ant find out how to fix mine. It seems that the guy you linked me to was originally able to get his card working but something went wrong when he was updating it. My DSL doesnt detect my card at all, whether using aiko or the official firmware.
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's as I said in the other thread, either the cart is bricked or your cart isn't making contact with the contacts DS Lite's slot-1 cart slot.

    Follow the steps in the my post as there's not much else you can do and make sure you've given the Acekard's contacts a really good clean.

    It's always possible the retailer you brought it from updated the cart to 1.4, and bricked it without knowing. They wouldn't have known unless they tried using the cart again.

    Again if that doesn't work, follow the unbricking section in my guide using your R4 cart to load the file. You really have nothing to lose by trying it.
     
  5. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    when unbricking how long does it take for it to update? the progress bar has been sitting at 0% for a few minutes, does this mean my cart is bricked and wont work
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure you've downloaded the files from my guide, not the guide sticked at the top of the forum. They should have "new" in filename. The old ones are known to have a 0% progress issue.

    If it's actually starting the update, then it may mean it can see your Acekard is there, and this probably means it is a firmware issue.
     
  7. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    yea i got the files from your thread, they are the new ones. It booted fine on my r4, then i switched the carts, it identifies my acekard as HW:8181 and gives the chip number as well, i press for it to start update and it shows the progress but it is still at zero, going for about 10-15 minutes now.
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure how to fix then, It's seeing your cart and 8181 are known to be genuine.
    Check at the top you have (14-29) displayed.

    [​IMG]

    From the issues with the previous update, powering off at 0% does no harm. So you could try it again, failing that try the R4i ultra update on it. I'll go find it for you.
     
  9. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks. I do have the 14-29 at the top. How ever my chip ID is much longer than yours, its 80014ca, i dunno if this should mean anything. Im bummed now, will i be able to get an exchange? i got it from a place in canada
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone on here there's a post about that, and it's causes no ends of problems. I'm sure someone said tried the update a few times and eventually changed to a shorter one.

    This is the link to the R4i update if you want to try it http://www.badongo.com/cfile/16936199
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. quaxon
    OP

    Newcomer quaxon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    when i try this one it just gives me a message saying this cart cant be updated, it doesnt give me the option to swap out my r4 for the acekard like the other updater did.
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's because you are using the DSi file to update, and it's trying to update your R4 card. Hence the message that it can't update the cart. Only the DSL file will allow you to swap carts.

    There is a DSL version of the R4i Ultra update, just like the Acekard one. It's named r4ifw_update_14_DSL_2939.nds but finding it is tricky, the only copies seem to be on file sharing sites and the files have been deleted due to not being downloaded.
     

Share This Page