Just got a Sega Genesis and have some questions

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Dr Eggman, Jul 26, 2009.

Jul 26, 2009
  1. Dr Eggman
    OP

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey all,


    So today, i just passed in to my local Swap Shop and they happened to have a Sega Genesis!
    So i bought it. I got 2 controllers and Sonic 2.

    I remembered that there were some flash carts out there for the genesis so i searched.
    I found the ToToTek one and some info on a NEOFlash one.

    Are there any more options, and if there are, are they viable? And what are your recommendations?
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't know much about the Tototek flash carts but I've heard some pretty good things. The good thing about them as well is you can get one that works on the 32x as well. I know it wasn't the most popular machine but it did have the best home version of Virtua Racing (beats the Saturn version hands down) and it's the only home console to have a port of Segas unlicensed Star Wars Arcade.

    They're pretty much impossible to find now but you can also get backup units for them. Keep an eye out for the Double Pro Fighter, it allows SNES and Megadrive backups.
     
  3. Dr Eggman
    OP

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, they have ONE at the ToToTek website, but i was thinking, arent alot of snes roms larger than 1.44MB? SO wouldnt they be too big to fit on a floppy? It says 32M on it, so i assume it can be flashed via parallel cable or something. And 150$ is kinda expensive.

    Heres the link BTW
    ToToTek Link for Double Pro Fighter
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It splits them across more than one floppy if it's larger than 1.44MB. When a game's on more than 1 floppy it just prompts you to put the next one in when the previous one is finished loading. $150 is expensive, but these days they're like rocking horse shit. Most people that have one don't want to give them up.
     
  5. Dr Eggman
    OP

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe i might get one when i get the cash. I'm going to trade in some wii games, so that might be soon.
    But i'll see. Still 150$ is expensive. But i guess its worth it.

    Also, is there some PC Software to split the roms over the floppies?
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, I use SnesTool for the SNES stuff but when I owned a Megadrive copier I used Ucon as it handled both. Iit's called Ucon64 now.
     
  7. Dr Eggman
    OP

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    All right, I'm going to go ahead and order the Double Pro Fighter.
    Thanks for the help TrolleyDave!


    EDIT: I read that these backup units had problems, should i still order it?
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The original versions had problems where the SNES chip would pop out of its socket. It usually happened quite early on in the units life so if they're selling it and it's listed as working perfectly then you probably don't have to worry about it. It's a "if it's survived this long it'll keep going" type thing.
     
  9. Dr Eggman
    OP

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, in the end I decided not to order it. Too expensive. I ordered a pre-modded Saturn, and the rest of the money I'll put towards a NES and SNES, maybe an N64 too.


    Thanks for the help tho.
     
  10. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Here is a review of the Mega Cart, looks nice, seems to work pretty well.

    Expensive........yes........ but imagine how much it cost to get alot of these games these days. I've built a decent collection, but still missing a few of the rare and expensive ones.
     
  11. JohnnyCheeks

    Member JohnnyCheeks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Might as well put all that money towards used carts. Nothing beats owning the real deal, complete with box and manual.
     

Share This Page