Just got a O3DS version 3.0.0-6. What should I do ?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by WiLL, Jan 26, 2016.

1. WiLL
    OP

WiLL Newbie

Newcomer
    Dec 14, 2006
    France
    Hi there ! :grog:
    I am new to the 3DS world, I got an old old 3DS which haven't been used for 3 years (something was broken, probably a ribbon, and I (partly) fixed it.
    So, I read TONS of tutorials to understand everything, and one thing is really unclear :
    As I can choose the version of my 3DS, which version should I choose ?

Some tutorial are like "starting from 4.x", others "from 9.2 until 10.3"...

For exemple this one : https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-more-or-less-catch-all-tutorial.407080/

It is written "This guide only applies to 3DS system versions 4.0-10.3, and the CFW process only applies to system versions 4.0-9.2."

But then you can read "MENUHAX (REQUIRES FIRMWARE VERSION ABOVE 9.0)"
    What should I understand then ???

So, can I have a clear answer ? 4.X ? or 9.0 to 9.2 ?
    Aaaaaargh !!!! :wacko:

Thanks you very much !! :yay3ds:

2. Grim Ripper

Grim Ripper GBAtemp Regular

Jan 25, 2016
    Greece
    The guide says that it applies to firmware 4.0-10.3 cause you can either install cfw imediately or downgrade (if 9.3-10.3) to a firmware that is capable of installing cfw.
    The menuhax works by utilizing the theme engine that was introduced in firmware 9.0, you can use it to coldboot your 3ds into the cfw.

Personal opinion, find a way to update in 9.0-9.2 and install rxtools. :)

P.S Wait for others to state their opinions.

Last edited by Grim Ripper, Jan 26, 2016
  3. SomeGamer

SomeGamer Within Hyrule Castle

Dec 19, 2014
    Hungary
    If you want autoboot, update to 9.2 or 9.0, if not, 4.5 is enough.

4. Woody8275

Woody8275 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Sep 4, 2013
    get a game with firmware 4.1-4.5 then update with it then install CFW and the MSET exploit
    then use sysupdater to update to 9.2 for autoboot

5. Psi-hate