Just got a brand new M3, comes with ruby.gba??

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by falco123, Jul 7, 2006.

Jul 7, 2006
  1. falco123
    OP

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    It's a clean formatted card, yet when I boot up the M3, it always says Ruby.gba WARNING GBA Game Save but cannot find autosave backup file, backup fail. I haven't put ANYTHING related to GBA on the card, I checked for hidden folders, etc, nothing is there, and I don't know why...
     


  2. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Someone tested the M3 with a gba rom, the sram of the M3 contains that rom save file. It doesnt find a dat file on your card and it's normal. once you load another game, everything will be back to normal.
     
  3. falco123
    OP

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Once I load another game? I've tested like 15 DS games so far and it still keeps coming up. Do I need a test a gba game?
     
  4. crumpster

    Newcomer crumpster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    sounds like you got a bad m3, i had the same problem... let me guess divineo.com is where u bought it
     
  5. falco123
    OP

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    No, i got it from realhotstuff...
     
  6. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    Yes, you need to test a GBA game.
    Play a GBA game (maybe pokemon ruby?) and save the game; then reboot your DS.
    Tell us if you still have the problem [​IMG]
     
  7. XBohrchX

    Newcomer XBohrchX Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    You need to overwrite the ruby.gba with another gba rom, therefore just play a gba rom. Playing a DS Rom doesn't solve the "problem". by the way, i also had a sav file in the sram after turning on m3 for the first time. It was asphalt urban ds us;)
     
  8. falco123
    OP

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I tested out MMBN 6, and now it works fine. Thanks everyone!
     
  9. TommyVlaming

    Newcomer TommyVlaming Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Opglabbeek
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have the same prob, ok im gonna try to load a gba game tnx all
     
  10. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yea i have this same problem, had no idea what it was thought it was normal, well now i know how to fix it thanks guys
     
  11. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just tried this fix but i keep getting this error and it just swaps to whatever game i played last, my save games seem to be saving and loading ok, but every time on reboot i get the same error "warning! GBA save game already exists on this card, but autosave cannot be found. backup failed"

    anyone help?
     
  12. takieda

    Member takieda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    You need to create game saves for every game you put onto the DS... the easiest method is simply to run the games through the game manager - i.e. Write GBA instead of Write NDS.
     
  13. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    done that, thats the way i loaded the gba games
     
  14. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anyone got any ideas
     
  15. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    why don't you just create a gba save file named ruby.dat, let it back up, then delete ruby.dat

    It's saying it has nowhere to go, didn't think of giving it somewhere to go?
     
  16. Thorisoka

    Member Thorisoka GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    France
    Indeed. I got that problem 2 day ago while attempting to update my passkey 2, the M3 kept a save of the .gba file and definitely wanted to write in a .dat that points to this file

    just try to flash any GBA game you would name ruby.gba, the .dat will be created, the M3's sram.dat will write into the .dat when you boot it, then just delete the rom and everything should be correct [​IMG]
     
  17. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ill try it but i dont think it will work because its not doing the ruby.gba one no more it just says excatly the same but with whatever game i played last eg mario.gba
     
  18. falco123
    OP

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Lol...that's the point. I don't know why this topic got so many posts, but it's really simple, just run a GBA game to clear the SRAM for GBA and same for DS. It will always back up the .dat for the last game you played no matter what, but when you run a real game, at least you don't get an error.
     
  19. Spin20vt

    Newcomer Spin20vt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea ive done that but it didnt fix it, ive sorted in now anyway i reformatted to fat rather then fat32 and it seem to fix it no more error.
     
  20. Doktor83

    Newcomer Doktor83 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    hi. sorry for my bad english
    i have a problem with my m3 on my ds lite with flashme.
    if i do a savegame and then i shut off and then power on my ds, the savegames doesn't load.

    if i shut off and then immediatly turn on i see this message: WARNING!NDS SAVE IN CARD BUT CANNOT FIND AUTOSAVE BACKUP FILE!BACKUP FAIL!PRESS A TO CONTINUE

    I have the last fw (v25) and the last loader (v25).

    the strange is that the savegame was created by the manager in the cf but when i save in playing the m3 can't see it.

    the old saves (that i've created when i'm using this m3 on my old ds) works perfectly but when i try to owerwrite them and then i reboot ds, this saves were unchanged.

    I have tried to format the cf, but problem persist. i have also tried to load another gba games but nothing.

    i hope that you can help me because in this situation my m3 is not useful.

    thanks in advance
    bye
    Doktor83
     

Share This Page