Just bought EZ5

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by frostbyte211, Oct 23, 2007.

Oct 23, 2007

Just bought EZ5 by frostbyte211 at 12:11 AM (2,597 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. frostbyte211
    OP

    Newcomer frostbyte211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    I just bought the ez5 card but have no idea where to begin, i have my games, but don't know what to do to play them, what files to download or anything, can anyone direct me to a noob friendly guide to get me started please

    thanks
     
  2. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
  3. frostbyte211
    OP

    Newcomer frostbyte211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm looks like a good sit ebut still confused, it says to get shell and loader from all you need files, but there is none titled shell or loader, sorry to be a pain but still need more help lol

    Scratch that loader part, found the loader, but still don't know what shells are, and which one would i download for gba roms, which is the best one ?
     
  4. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    If you're getting Kernel 1.61, you should have two files: ez5upldr.bin and moonshl (a folder). The first is the kernel/loader (interchangeable terms), the second is the shell.

    Kernel + Shell 1.61

    If you're using an EZ V DS cart, it does all of the handling for the 3-in-1, no additional software should be needed for your DS. Just hit A on the GBA files, hit A again to load.
     
  5. frostbyte211
    OP

    Newcomer frostbyte211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    just curious, why would that quick start guide talk about ez5 client and patching the gba files?
    also where do the saves go for gba, will i lose them if i switch games,

    sorry for all this but you have been a great help, i am learning trust me i appreciate all of this
     
  6. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    EZ5 Client is for DS games. It used to be that users with slow MicroSD cards would have to "hybrid" patch their games with the EZ5 Hybrid tool. It also trims roms (removes useless excess data), but many tools do that more efficiently.

    The EZ4 Client is for GBA- you'd need to use that to trim GBA games (other trimmers exist) and to patch GBA games to save correctly.

    Other patching (NDStation, Rudolphs Tool, etc.) is for users with non EZ V DS carts that don't have the proper software builtin to their R4/G6 Real/whatever.

    Saves go into the GBASAVE folder. If you switch games, the EZ V backs up the old save, erases the old game off of the 3-in-1 (the original on your MicroSD is untouched), writes the new game, and writes the save (if one exists).

    No problem [​IMG] Everyone has to start somewhere [​IMG]
     
  7. frostbyte211
    OP

    Newcomer frostbyte211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada

    so i would need the client if i want to save the games?? because earlier you said i didn't need anything, i'm confused now lol
     
  8. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    No additional software would be needed for your DS is what I said. You don't have to use Rudolph's 3-in-1 tool, NDstation, etc. to load games. However, some games with large saves require patching on your PC via the EZ4 client. This only applies to certain GBA games.
     
  9. frostbyte211
    OP

    Newcomer frostbyte211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you know which games need the patch or not ?
     
  10. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
  11. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you're playing GBA Games with a slot 2 device you can ignore most everything in this thread.

    To play NDS games, you must first upgrade your EZV to the 1.61 software, this is located in the downloads section and contains instructions on how to get it intsalled.

    After that, simply put the games on your microSD card (unzipped of course) and play them on your NDS.

    If you want to get more in depth, like if you have a problem with one game not running well or with trimming roms then we can talk about getting further into it. Otherwise, just put the rom files on your card and play them. Nothing else is absolutely required, and most of the posts here are just confusing you. You never said you got the 3 in 1 expansion pack in your posts, so the other members on the forum got a little carried away by giving you information about that. If you did get a 3 in 1 and want to play GBA games with it, it's not hard, and I can show you what you need to do with that.
     
  12. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Not explicitly, but given the number of questions he has asked?...
     
  13. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    How many times have you seen questions like "how do I play gba games on my R4?"
    My apologies to the OP, but I didn't give you the benefit of the doubt on this one, since you never said anywhere that you had a device capable of playing GBA roms I assumed you didn't have such a device and any GBA related questions were due to ignorance on the slot-1 GBA issue.
     
  14. roflmywaffle

    Newcomer roflmywaffle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
  15. abhuul

    Newcomer abhuul Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I got the EZ-Flash bundle last Monday. At first everything seemed to work: I updated to the 1.70 kernel. DS roms worked, and my DPG movie played, but I couldn't get GBA roms to work. I tried first with clean roms with just the EZ-Flash loader: I hit the A button to open the load menu, and hit it again to start loading the rom. I did this several times with several different roms, but every time it would freeze either during the erasing of the NOR or during the writing. Then, I read about EZ-Client, so I tried patching several games and booting them. Again, the same thing happened. I found the 3-in-1 tool on the EZ-Flash website, and I tried patching with that. This time, the games appeared to load, and the GBA logo would flash, but then I just got a white screen. I have also tried Rudolph's loader, even though I should need it since I have the EZ-Flash card, but I got the same white screen. I even tried downgrading to an older kernel, but then it wouldn't even recognize the GBA device. I am SO frustrated! Am I doing something wrong? or is my 3in1 broken?


    Edit: I just tried following the directions in the "updating firmware" thread. I tried again to start a GBA game. It erased the NOR fine, but it froze as it started writing. I have waited several minutes and the bar hasn't even moved to start writing.
     

Share This Page