Just bought a 3-in-1 for my R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by turtleman, Feb 11, 2008.

Feb 11, 2008
  1. turtleman
    OP

    Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Can somebody recomend me a good tool to flash the .gba roms to the cart? I'm using R4 firmware version 1.11
     


  2. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    rudolph's 3 in 1 tools
     
  3. darigaaz3

    Newcomer darigaaz3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Malaysia
    http://www009.upp.so-net.ne.jp/rudolph/nds...xpLoader_02.zip

    New rudolph 3 in 1, named ExpLoader to work with the new EZ 3 in 1 chipset. The old rudolph 3 in 1 works only with the old EZ3 in 1 with the old chipset. Practically fresh out of the coding oven.

    Simply download and put the nds file into your R4 and you can use it in conjunction with your EZ 3 in 1. Apparently there were some bugs in the 01 which is fixed in the 02. Its just came out a few days ago so might still have a bit more to iron out.
     
  4. turtleman
    OP

    Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man, I may need this considering I just ordered one today, and it's most likely the new chipset.

    You're a potential life saver! [​IMG]
     
  5. darigaaz3

    Newcomer darigaaz3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Malaysia
    No problem.

    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=...=5006&start=105

    Just keep following this thread in the forum. Been a few development by Rudolph for his new tool. Apparently it can auto patch SRAM now.

    Thank to cory for his previous GBAldr. Was using that for a few weeks and I still use it to load to NOR.
     
  6. turtleman
    OP

    Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anything I should know about loading .gba's onto the 3in1 besides just using that tool? Are there any spespific things I should know about on spespific games? Or is it simply a matter of "Go to GBAtool, load the .gba, enjoy"
     
  7. darigaaz3

    Newcomer darigaaz3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Nope. It really is as simple as loading the GBA files into the microSD, then start the EXPloader, load the games into SRAM/NOR and then enjoy your game.

    Just remember to keep saving and make backups. Don't worry, the program is easy enough to use and it kinda guides you on what you need to do.

    Just some tips : SRAM loads fast but the save files dissapears when you shut down your DS. No problem if you are using the program I just told you about as it auto saves it to the R4 and you can make backups as well.

    NOR loads takes a few minutes but the save files pretty much won't dissapear unless you load another game erasing the old NOR. Again, if you start the game from the R4 then GBA slot, rudolph's tool will again make a save file for it.

    Some games might need something called SRAM patching as the save files are not compatible. Apparently the new tool helps to do it automatically as well, so there shouldn't be a problem at all.

    too long; didn't read : Just put it in and go.
     
  8. Echo1

    Member Echo1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Useful information there, darigaaz3. So, the SRAM saves are safe when using EXPloader, then?
     
  9. turtleman
    OP

    Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    So I should be safe to use the quicker, SRAM loading option? The save will automatically copy itself to my MicroSD?
     
  10. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    SRAM and NOR sound very similar. How do I know which I should use to flash my GBA games? Do some use SRAM and some use NOR?
     
  11. victorlammy

    Newcomer victorlammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The new Exploader is very good, go for it guys. But I am pretty new to the 3in1 pack as well, and very confuse about how it works regarding saving and the NOR and SRAM too.

    I remember the SRAM is about 64M, so you can load up to 64M game to the SRAM I think? but is that mean you won't have space for the save file? or does it save it to the NOR?

    The NOR has 128M space, so you can load up to 128M game to the NOR, and it can still keep your save file in NOR, somehow? or it will put it in SRAM?

    Could some one tell me about what are those option we got in SRAM and NOR mode? backup data; copy save from SRAM and bla bla bal. Some options sound confusing and repeating... [​IMG]
     
  12. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    NOR is only 32 MB (Non-Volatile meaning no power is needed to retain it's memory. This option is closest to having an actual copy of the game. NOR ram can only hold one game at a time). (256 Mbits)

    PSRAM is 16 MB (Volatile, the memory will erase once the DS is turned off. PSRAM is used to flash ROMs onto the 3 in 1 at time of play. The data will erase once the DS is turned off, and is the best viable option when you wish to have many GBA roms stored onto your SLOT-1 flashcart -- since you can quickly erase the PSRAM to run a different game)(128 MBits)

    SRAM is 512 KB (4 MBits) - Obviously, it's for the Save Data. It's non-volatile and is written to your slot-1 on next boot-up.

    SRAM is used for Save Data. PSRAM and NOR is for flashing games onto the 3 in 1.
     
  13. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, you said that when you use PSRAM, your data is erased when you turn off the DS. How do you save your games then? If I can't save with PSRAM, I will probably only use NOR.
     
  14. turtleman
    OP

    Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    With PSRAM, will the saves autmatically back up to the slot-1 before turning it off?
     
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No they're not, they're not saved until you load something else in (although there's an option to force the save to write). It's only the game that's loaded into PSRAM, the save itself is stored in SRAM so you don't have to worry about it disappearing when you power off. I've not been using my 3-in-1 for long (just before xmas) but I've never had a save disappear or anything.
     
  16. victorlammy

    Newcomer victorlammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Thanks Grimalkin!! That really give me a much better idea of how the 3in1 works.
    And drock360, the PSRAM is different to SRAM according to Grimalkin. Your saves are stored in SRAM which will not be erased while you turn off DS. Correct me if I am wrong. [​IMG]
     
  17. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys! This helps a lot. Now if I could just just my MicroSD working [​IMG]
     
  18. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    So you can't have more then 1 GBA game on the 3-in-1 or can you?
     
  19. victorlammy

    Newcomer victorlammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I think you can have one in NOR and one in PSRAM, but the rest can only stay on your slot1 SD card.
     
  20. vwwolfe

    Newcomer vwwolfe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    So where's the best place to order a 3 in 1 from? I have an R4 and have been playing the crap out of NDS games but it's about time I ordered a 3 in 1 to play my GBA games on the go.
     

Share This Page