Just a thought

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Saria, Oct 9, 2003.

Oct 9, 2003

Just a thought by Saria at 12:52 AM (521 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Saria
    OP

    Member Saria The Sage Of The Forest Temple

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As an example Yoshi's Island: Super Mario Advance 3

    I get this:

    [​IMG]

    or this:

    [​IMG]

    First pic is due to having the BIOS enabled
    the game wont run beyond selecting New Game

    Second pic is a memory problem
    which can be resolved if you know what your doing

    With Yoshi's Island it took me multiple downloads to figure that it was the BIOS that was causing the crash
    but nowhere was this info available on the site.

    It can be confusing to some that some games do need BIOS and others wont work with BIOS

    So all I am suggesting is that if there are future games that are released that require special configuration setups
    Whether they can be displayed along side the SRAM Type on the Main page

    Ie:

    0553 - Yoshi's Island: Super Mario Advance 3 (USA - Mode 7)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Save Type: EEPROM
    Other Info: Run game without BIOS in VBA
     
  2. Tempest Stormwin

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    I support this idea. We did something similar with SM4 prior to the patch, and I suppored that too.

    I hope the people who post these will notice and put this up.

    -Tempest out.-
     
  3. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, we do actually do this already. (Not from the creation of the forum but with most releases).

    But we do only note critical information, examples are Banjo Kazooie with the emulation problem or SMA 4.

    But prehaps, we should start noting there, anything that would help reduce the amount of 'help' threads that would arise if we didn't.
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    bah [​IMG]
    for example, if the one who takes the screenshots and post the news tries the game with his own settings, those may not be the same for all users.
    So if the game works for the newswriter at the 1st time he tries, he will not think about trying it with different settings...
     
  5. Squiffy

    Member Squiffy GBATemp's Little Embarrassment

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    I would like to see "tool-tips" giving extra info whenever you hover over each of the releases.
    They conserve space and are probably not too hard to code.
    I like the idea of the extra info, but since it's already being implemented on the more important games, I don't think we need to do it on every release.
     

Share This Page