Just a couple of cfw questions I hope can be answered...

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by The Viztard, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. The Viztard
    OP

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Just a couple of questions:

    - I'm currently on 5.50 Prom-4 on my PSP 1000, and I was wondering if it is at all worth it to update to a 6.XX cfw? I've heard that it is a pretty simple process.
    - And if so, which cfw is recommended?
    - Can I just update over my current cfw or would some sort of uninstall of Prom-4 be required? (Or would I just install a 6.XX ofw and then install a 6.xx cfw after?)
    - Would my game saves be all right (as in playable), or would they corrupt somehow?

    Any help/comments are appreciated! :yay:
    Thanks in advance for the help! :)
     
  2. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    It's the most compatible firmware with games to date, no save file corruption, and even NoDRM for DLC built into it. However, about those saves, I remember GEN-D3 having some weird error with those (hence why I mentioned no save corruption), making the saves work for only that firmware. I'm not sure if it applies to Prom-4 as well.

    If you're still willing to update, just get on the latest official firmware 6.60, and download the 6.60 PRO-B10 CFW from this page.

    Just ask if you've got anymore questions.
     
  3. The Viztard
    OP

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! Uhh, yeah, I'm still interested for sure. It's just that I obviously want to be able to play my game saves from Prom-4 on PRO (so no starting over and stuff) if possible, yaknow? :unsure:
    Yeah, I was on Gen-D3 before Prom-4 and I was scared for my save files from Gen not working on Prom-4, but I asked around and it turns out they were fine from Gen to Prom-4. Then again, they were both 5.50 fw's, while this would require updating to 6.60. Soo...crap. I don't know. :blink:
     
  4. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    There's an application called SaveGame Deemer that allows you to update your save files for a compatible firmware base if they're read as corrupted. It also requires a decryption key for that game so it can be unloaded as raw data and converted. It's an extensive process if you've got a whole bunch of saves. Trust me, I've been through this crap. >_>;;
     
  5. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    You can also use MagicSave, which is a lot easier, since you use it while loading the save.
     
  6. The Viztard
    OP

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh! I want to update...but it seems like such a hassle to make sure the saves work after I update to PRO from Prom-4. D: Thanks for the help though.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't have any save issues after updating.
     
  8. The Viztard
    OP

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Hm? That's kinda what I was wondering, I haven't actually tried it myself for fear of the game saves from one not being compatible with the other. So going from 5.50 Prom-4 to 6.60 PRO shouldn't create any save issues? As in previous game saves from Prom-4 should work fine on a newly installed 6.60 PRO?
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Some people have issues, some don't, I haven't had any.
     
  10. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Why did someone said like ''WTF? upgrading psp 1000 to pro is a crap''
    and i believe its someone from here.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't see that.
     
  12. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    No one has ever said that that I've seen in my entire GBAtemp life.

    Plus, I had absolutely no save problems either. I was like you, and after updating (to 6.20, but 6.60 is no different, besides anti-piracy measures and cosmetic changes) none of my saves were unusable or corrupt.
     
  13. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    I've probably had a single game save corrupt on me but it was a PSX title and to get it to work, i kept changing the POPS to get it to work and saved often... Upgraded CFW, remembered to remove all Plugins due to incompatibility and a single PSX save corrupted... All PSP saves were fine and 99% of PSX game were fine too... The one that i kept on changing the pops around on was the only one that gave up the ghost....

    Stick on PRO when you get it
     
  14. The Viztard
    OP

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, alrighty. Well I guess I'll upgrade then. Meh. Haha. Thanks guys. :D
     
  15. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia

    I agree with this.
     
  16. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    I believe one of the Pro updates fixed the whole corrupt saves from Prometheus problem. Apparently the issue was that Prometheus uses the wrong encryption key for saves so when a later firmware tries to load them the correct way it fails.
     
  17. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    I believe its 6.29 im not sure
     
  18. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, no, it's PRO-BX (the X being the version that fixed it.)

    I'm pretty sure PRO-B6 fixed this issue, so if you update to PRO-B10, you should be perfectly fine.
     
  19. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Okay so every latest pro have fixed like pro b10? great
     

Share This Page