1. boobooman

    OP boobooman Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Hey all ive just got a jpn wii cheap, Can i just use my pal ( 2 pin german) plug in a uk socket, it has a travel plug on it.
     
  2. squirt1000

    squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    Check the voltage the JPN Wii runs at, You might need to get a stepdown converter as us UK folks use 240v which would more than likely kill your JPN Wii [​IMG]
     
  3. Bob Evil

    Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    You will need either a step-down transformer, as the Japanese Wii will run at 110v, and UK current (240v) will kill it instantly ... or at least kill the power supply unit for it ... or ... you need to buy a UK wii power supply unit ... either will do ...
     
  4. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Country:
    I think all Wii run at the same voltage, it's just the power adapters that are different from region to region.

    (please, though, verify this yourself before trying anything!)
     
  5. ahtin

    ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    You need a stepdown adapter or 3rd party 100-240v adapter for Wii
     
  6. boobooman

    OP boobooman Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Hi guys, thanks yeah it came with a uk plug [​IMG] but as usual nothing off ebay is as it should, dup channels, semi bricked (no wii options) and bloody disc error on nearly all my games [​IMG]
     
  7. squirt1000

    squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    Report it as faulty and get a refund! File a paypal dispute if I were you [​IMG]
     
  8. boobooman

    OP boobooman Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Yup silly me went out of ebay and payed cash [​IMG]
    Dup channels sorted,
    Can't do anything about semi brick for now as it seems it might be from wiifit but grabbing kart jpn just to try.
    Haveing no lucking finding jap freeloader so looks like im going to have to buy it [​IMG]
    Cant get my pal zelda even patched to ntsc-j,
    Installed homebrew channel from a wad file loaded the geckofree that wont boot any games *sigh* im having great fun!!!

    Also what do we know about the d2ckey because thats what chips in it?

    lol this was meant to be a simple b-day present for daughter and its turned into a nightmare, serves me right for being cheap [​IMG]
     
  9. jan777

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,830
    Country:
    the gecko free will really not boot any games from the homebrew channel you need the tp hack
     
Draft saved Draft deleted