JoyDS v0.1b

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by JPH, Apr 14, 2008.

Apr 14, 2008

JoyDS v0.1b by JPH at 7:36 AM (3,186 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. JPH
    OP

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    JoyDS v0.1b
    Use DS as Wireless Joypad for your PC!
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Developer's Blog
    [​IMG] Source
     
  2. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Major bug which stops you actually running the server ... !
     
  3. lilaznkilla

    Member lilaznkilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Australia
    Source link missing an "o" for nintendo.
    I get a crash after i select my port as well, probably cause im using vista.
     
  4. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lilaznkilla the author sent me the following, which worked for me. Try it:

     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was a little fiddly to setup but once I got it going it worked great. It seems a little unstable though, sometimes after exiting and restarting the PC side of it I have to delete and redo the entry in PPJoy. Great work though.
     
  6. lilaznkilla

    Member lilaznkilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Australia
    Woo thanks, Xeijin. Now I can play SNES games with a more authentic feel.
     
  7. joe joe

    Newcomer joe joe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    works great!
    using my DS as a controller to play N64 games on my computer is crazy!!!
    hehehehe think of all the deceiving I can do on youtube with this. LOL [​IMG]

    I'm using XP SP3, two DSTTs, two DS phats, a linksys router, and project 64 emulator.
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All we really need for this app to be perfect (besides a bit of front-end tweaking) is the ability to use our rumble packs as well! [​IMG]
     
  9. jesus_bon_jovi

    Newcomer jesus_bon_jovi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    People always seem to have trouble with PPJoy. I use DSPad and DS2Key Server and stick with the DS' buttons to correspond to keyboard key presses and not mess with PPJoy (though i have gotten it to work). It has worked great for me, even hooking up 2 DSs so my girlfriend and i can both play 2 players using emulators and PC games that accept keyboard controls.
     
  10. luccax

    Newcomer luccax Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for the feedback guys [​IMG] And thanks to Xeijin for posting the e-mail [​IMG]

    Hey lilaznkilla, you got JoyDS working on vista? 32bit or 64bit? [​IMG]
     
  11. airpirate545

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    hi, sorry for brining back a semi-old topic but I got the server running and everything but it doesnt work, I think my DS connected because the lights go off and the power light blinks but when I press buttons the server doesnt show anything being pressed..... Does it automatically know my ip and all that? PLease Help [​IMG]
     
  12. luccax

    Newcomer luccax Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    airpirate545,

    Version 0.2 of JoyDS already exists, you can download it here: http://luccax.drunkencoders.com
    You have to set your IP and Port, please read the ReadMe. [​IMG]
     
  13. airpirate545

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    I had another question, do I need wireless router to connect. it just keeps on searching and searching with no end. I thot the server handled all that
     
  14. luccax

    Newcomer luccax Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    You need a wireless router to use JoyDS [​IMG]
     
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rumble support would be awesome but I wouldn't worry about it your app is great as it is. Thanks to you I've got a wireless joypad for my PC! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page