Jasper V2 toasted disk drive need key flashed to new one

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
So I have a jasper v2. I bought it with the disk drive stuck, and I did manage to fix it, but I plugged in the cable backwards and burned the board. I have no idea if the key is readable still, and it smokes from where I tried to fix a resistor (burning flux I guess? will check today to see if it's a chip or flux.) I was wondering if anyone could flash another lite-on drive with my disk drive key, and if not, what can I even do with this console without a working disk drive?
P.S. the drive, before i tried fixing the resistor, did work, its just that no disks would read at all even with the laser cleaned and pottweaked
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
rgh the console and dump the dvd key from there, buy a replacement drive and reflash using said key, with rgh you wouldnt need a dvd drive anyway
I don't really trust myself with soldering, if someone can do the key flash I would be really greatful, but if RGH is the only way I may try it as I already own a jasper v1 rgh but bought this one broken to fix.
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
does it read a game? if it does then it may still function, but you may have damaged in a way where you cant flash it, or read the key

if you put an offical disk in and it says play dvd, then something isn't right with the drive
it does not read games or dvds but im only guessing the disk drive is being read because the power light on the xbox is solid and it does do the Reading... thing when i put in a disk. I tried to fix a shorted resistor and idk if it still works, though
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
I don't mind trying to rgh it but I don't want to kill it since its a jasper v2 and I dont have the hardware to do it. May be able to get in contact with a friend that I bought mine off of however
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: ClancyDaEnlightened

Jokey_Carrot

G̶B̶A̶T̶e̶m̶p̶ ̶A̶d̶d̶i̶c̶t̶ Heroin Addict.
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
636
Trophies
1
Location
Smethwick
XP
2,129
Country
United Kingdom
Lol. I did this same thing around this time last year. Bought a glitch chip and programmer and then never soldered them and left the thing in my draw where it remains today.
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
Yeah you'll still need a Jr programmer, there is a newer flasher that has 64 bit support
just wondering, is there any that come with the wires, and if not, what is the best flasher?
also how long do the wires need to be for rgh3? just wondering, have some breadboard wire laying around but doubt its long enough from looking at the photos
Also, just flashed a xenon disk drive (weird story, it has an mfg date of November 2008 yet has a xenon motherboard, but has the better GPU heatsink, probably a refurb with a Korean GPU but have no thermal paste to check) and it was really easy once i got the software set up, so, what is the best non-liteon drive for the 360 in terms of noise and reliability?
 
Last edited by mitch1256,

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
They usually come with wires, and for nand dumping Jr programmer or the newer one will work fine

Typically you want your connections to be short and precise, 30 awg kynar wire works fine
turns out something is just dead on it, it red rings only when a drive is in it, even if it is working. i just trashed it unless someone wants it for the GPU
 

Jokey_Carrot

G̶B̶A̶T̶e̶m̶p̶ ̶A̶d̶d̶i̶c̶t̶ Heroin Addict.
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
636
Trophies
1
Location
Smethwick
XP
2,129
Country
United Kingdom
turns out something is just dead on it, it red rings only when a drive is in it, even if it is working. i just trashed it unless someone wants it for the GPU
It's only power so you can probably just tap voltage from other places on the board. Although I've been thinking of rghing my jasper with fried dvd and then using the spare sata port for an internal 3.5 hdd.
 

mitch1256

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
United States
it redrings if anything is connected to that port. its sitting in the bottom of my trash can right now man, its sad to see but I dont know how to fix it
It's only power so you can probably just tap voltage from other places on the board. Although I've been thinking of rghing my jasper with fried dvd and then using the spare sata port for an internal 3.5 hdd.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/wUVjgO3.mp4