Japanese Wii - am I at a disadvantage?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by delt31, Apr 14, 2009.

Apr 14, 2009
  1. delt31
    OP

    Member delt31 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    Can I still use the usb loader etc? Anyway I can change it into a ntsc firmware wii? I can get a cheap Japanese wii so that's why I ask. Not sure what the firmware on it is - what would be ok?
     
  2. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    As long as it hasn't system menu 4.0 on it you can change the region using any region changer.
     
  3. delt31
    OP

    Member delt31 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    is that the region changer? I heard it might brick wiis. What is the best software to use?
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    cIOS Downgrader. choose whichever firmware you want (Recommended 3.2U) and it will download all the files. It will ask for some region-changing prompts, just agree with that.

    Then, use one of the safe method to upgrade to 4.0U (Ask around, search). Install preloader (Yea, there's a guide, use the search function here).

    My Wii is also originally Japanese. But it was converted through this exact method and lookie, 4.0U
     
  5. Lynkk

    Newcomer Lynkk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Japan
    Yeah me too. I have a Japanese Wii "converted" to a US one (3.2U).
    Everything is working, including USB Loader.
     
  6. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Oh ya, the only difference between mine and standard "hacked" others is, my Wii is chipped.
     
  7. 1313andrewx

    Newcomer 1313andrewx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Philippines
    usb loader , preloader, HBC, Backup launcher, GC loader works with my japanese wii, i did not even changed it to another region, the downside is japanese menu....i'm still in 3.2j sys menu...oh, you must use a japanese version of twilight princess for the twilight hack to work...
     
  8. estebangh

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Recently I was troubled with a JAP Wii.

    I installed a modchip (Yaosm), activated region override and also turned it into 3.2U but couldn't get it to run several backups and even worse with ones that needed any update... then my last try was the Waninkoko loader and all problems were solved.

    I believe the issue is with Wii's drive that knows it was made for japanese games only.

    Step by step:
    1. Install Homebrew Channel through Twilight Hack.
    2. Run AnyRegion Changer from Hombrew Channel.
    3. Download 3.2U firmware through your Wi-Fi connection and when its done change every configuration at the first section to US.
    4. Install cIOS rev10 (remember that you'll need IOS36... google it or extract it from Mario Kart o Super Smash Bros. Brawl).
    5. Finally run games with USBLoader 1.4.

    That's what my friend (Wii owner) is doing and he's very satisfied...we tried every possible solution and neither of them seemed to work.

    Believe me when I say that's the best you can do.
     
  9. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    actually. i think jap users have an advantage

    imagine, when we bought our wiis , it was about $100 cheaper, (i think, its about php5,000)

    then we wait a few months and homebrew allows us to convert jap wiis to u.s. wiis

    i bought mine premodded with 10 pirated disc for $398?(wtf? heres the it was php19000 and the exchange rate is about php45=$1 convert it yourself{whereas u.s. wiis back then was about 25000)


    so. just change your region to u.s. and :yaywii:
     
  10. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yes, talking bout that, US Wii unmodded here sells for RM 1400 while Japan-convert-US sells for RM 1140.

    Which is better? Do the math.
     
  11. hawk36

    Newcomer hawk36 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Denmark
    hi
    i have an jap wii witch i have converted too an europa version . and the only problem i have is that the wii shop channel dosent work . is there any other that have that problem . i have tried too uninstall the channel whit file manager channel and install it again but nothing works .so if anybody knows how too fiks it i will be happy
     

Share This Page