1. delt31

    OP delt31 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    United States
    Can I still use the usb loader etc? Anyway I can change it into a ntsc firmware wii? I can get a cheap Japanese wii so that's why I ask. Not sure what the firmware on it is - what would be ok?
     
  2. Slowking

    Slowking GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,403
    Country:
    Germany
    As long as it hasn't system menu 4.0 on it you can change the region using any region changer.
     
  3. delt31

    OP delt31 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    United States
    is that the region changer? I heard it might brick wiis. What is the best software to use?
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    cIOS Downgrader. choose whichever firmware you want (Recommended 3.2U) and it will download all the files. It will ask for some region-changing prompts, just agree with that.

    Then, use one of the safe method to upgrade to 4.0U (Ask around, search). Install preloader (Yea, there's a guide, use the search function here).

    My Wii is also originally Japanese. But it was converted through this exact method and lookie, 4.0U
     
  5. Lynkk

    Lynkk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Yeah me too. I have a Japanese Wii "converted" to a US one (3.2U).
    Everything is working, including USB Loader.
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Oh ya, the only difference between mine and standard "hacked" others is, my Wii is chipped.
     
  7. 1313andrewx

    1313andrewx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    usb loader , preloader, HBC, Backup launcher, GC loader works with my japanese wii, i did not even changed it to another region, the downside is japanese menu....i'm still in 3.2j sys menu...oh, you must use a japanese version of twilight princess for the twilight hack to work...
     
  8. estebangh

    estebangh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Colombia
    Recently I was troubled with a JAP Wii.

    I installed a modchip (Yaosm), activated region override and also turned it into 3.2U but couldn't get it to run several backups and even worse with ones that needed any update... then my last try was the Waninkoko loader and all problems were solved.

    I believe the issue is with Wii's drive that knows it was made for japanese games only.

    Step by step:
    1. Install Homebrew Channel through Twilight Hack.
    2. Run AnyRegion Changer from Hombrew Channel.
    3. Download 3.2U firmware through your Wi-Fi connection and when its done change every configuration at the first section to US.
    4. Install cIOS rev10 (remember that you'll need IOS36... google it or extract it from Mario Kart o Super Smash Bros. Brawl).
    5. Finally run games with USBLoader 1.4.

    That's what my friend (Wii owner) is doing and he's very satisfied...we tried every possible solution and neither of them seemed to work.

    Believe me when I say that's the best you can do.
     
  9. jan777

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Country:
    actually. i think jap users have an advantage

    imagine, when we bought our wiis , it was about $100 cheaper, (i think, its about php5,000)

    then we wait a few months and homebrew allows us to convert jap wiis to u.s. wiis

    i bought mine premodded with 10 pirated disc for $398?(wtf? heres the it was php19000 and the exchange rate is about php45=$1 convert it yourself{whereas u.s. wiis back then was about 25000)


    so. just change your region to u.s. and :yaywii:
     
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Yes, talking bout that, US Wii unmodded here sells for RM 1400 while Japan-convert-US sells for RM 1140.

    Which is better? Do the math.
     
  11. hawk36

    hawk36 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    hi
    i have an jap wii witch i have converted too an europa version . and the only problem i have is that the wii shop channel dosent work . is there any other that have that problem . i have tried too uninstall the channel whit file manager channel and install it again but nothing works .so if anybody knows how too fiks it i will be happy
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - disadvantage, Japanese,