Japanese super slim PS3... can i connect it to the german 220V Net?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Bonny, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi!

    Just ordered a PlayStation3 New Slim Console - Shin Hokuto Musou Legend Edition (250GB Limited Model) from PA, cause the're selling them off for 245 Euros.

    Can i connect this System to a german 220Volt net just via a simple plug-converter, or does i have to use an real voltage converter? I'am pretty sure the original AC-Adapter of the system is internal, so i guess building in an european AC-adaptor would also be an solution.

    If i would need an voltage convertor, how much power (Watt) must he can provide? I only got one who can provide 100 Watt / 110V. This is not enough for even a super slim PS3, right?

    Any help is really appreciated! :yayps3:
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Japan uses 100V at (predominantly) 50Hz - it's different than North American (120V) and European (220V) standards. The Super Slim requires aprox. 190 Watts for proper operation... so yes, you'll need a new power converter/transformer which will fit these specifications.

    EDIT: I've been corrected. :P
     
  3. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Foxi4 likes this.
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Oh? Wow, I never knew that - it's a pretty neat feature. Then again, I suppose it was a must since internal so you can't exactly "change it" without opening the console.
     
  5. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for the Info.

    I picked up that the fat PS3's from Japan could handle 220V, just like my PSP-2000's AC-Adaptor. If super slim PS3's only can take 110V, i really have to get a new voltage converter. 190 Watts you say? Well, thats much better than the early Xbox360 models who needed much more. As you sure know: The more Watts the voltage converter must provide, the more expensive it is. But implanting an european super slim AC-Adaptor into the japanese system would also be an option, right?
     
  6. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    If Armadillo is right, that would save me a lot money - :P
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can take whatever Arstechnica says practically as fact. ;) I merely assumed that it'll need Japanese-style current since it's a Japanese system. :P
     
  8. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    Glad to hear that. :yay: But i surely check the specifics on the console BEFORE i plug it into the european net with a simple plug converter :ph34r:. Cause, If only 110V is written on the console, it will be :shit: after i turned it on. :rofl2:
     
  9. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
  10. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    PS3devwiki and PS3devwiki

    All models are international with 100-240V 50/60Hz input PSUs. You don't have to worry about it. Also the used power is 75W/190W ie. it uses 75W, but the PSU is capable of 190W if need be (IIRC, but the PS3 doesn't need that much :3).

    To sum it up, you're good to go!
     
  11. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    OK... even if nothing like "100V ~ 220V" is written on the console, i can surley just use an plug-converter (NOT an voltage converter!), and plug it into the european 220V net? It will surley not blow up? Well, i guess i have to gice it a try :unsure:
     
  12. Bonny
    OP

    Member Bonny 34 years old and the leisure time of a kid

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    The second link says:

    "Note: Starting since CECH-4000 series an external powersupply is used."

    But my console has an internal power supply :wacko:
     
  13. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    My PS3 SLIM CECH 2001-a says 120V AC (outside), and inside (the PSU) accepts 220V AC. The last time I used a stepdown converter (220->120V) it turned off randomly. So it's plugged directly to wall outlet (220v AC)

    Anyway, a friend of mine bought a super slim and it's connected directly to 220V AC (because I just swap cables when I want to use my slim cech :creep: )
     

Share This Page