Its WIFI Night and I cant connect...

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by gizmo_gal, Oct 18, 2008.

Oct 18, 2008
  1. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying to connect to IRC via my browser--FireFox--but when I hit "Start Applet" nothing happens...

    Is there something I need to download and install prior to running the applet?
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    Java or you could get a real IRC client.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
  4. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    get mirc
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
  6. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Well Java took forever to install but I finally got it--incidentally I got Chatzilla also, as Java was taking an eternity to load...


    Okay, now I'm going to go click "start applet"

    Thanks everyone.
     
  7. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    UHm..."Start Applet" still isn't working...even thought I have Java now...
     
  8. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just download mirc lol and you'll be there in 2 minutes after reading the instructions here , people are still playing there
     
  9. VISHI SO FISHI

    Member VISHI SO FISHI Cricket My love!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    A kindom far far away!
    Country:
    India
    ya the start applet used to work for me ,but not any more,it has the same problem as u do...
     
  10. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    *Grr* thats 3 programs I've downloaded tonight and installed and none of them will connect for me. I wonder if it may be the firewall or something...

    Anyway, forget, I'll have to figure it out at a time when I am not too frustrated and hopefully I will join in the WiFi fun next week.
     
  11. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it is probably something from your end, VISHI SO FISHI managed to get in
     
  12. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah probably, but its getting late and I've eaten already (which means I get tired easier and faster) and since I'm not home--No WiFi at home right now--I'm going to head home, get into bedclothes and try to relax a bit and go to sleep.

    I'll work out the details through out the week hopefully and join you guys and gals for WiFi night next week.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you must allow irc on your firewall. you will also have to forward the ports for connection if your router requires it. i can't really help much without knowning what client you are using and more about your computer. with the java applet it works over port:80 so if you can get on the web you can chat.

    -another world
     

Share This Page