Issues with DS-X and FFIII Friend Codes

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by mtbi2k, Nov 21, 2006.

Nov 21, 2006
  1. mtbi2k
    OP

    Newcomer mtbi2k Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if anyone was having this issue...

    Everytime I reload my FFIII save after powering off/on my DS (thus writing the save off of EEPROM), mognet makes me initialize my mognet account again, thus giving me a new Friend code. If this keeps up, I will be unable to unlock certain secrets later in the game.

    If anyone else has had this problem and knows what I might be doing wrong, let me know. I appreciate the help.
     
  2. CronoTrig

    Newcomer CronoTrig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You're doing it wrong.
     
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    Or maybe you don't have the latest update?
    Try updating your firmware, if you haven't done that already.
     
  4. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Post of the century.

    If it keeps up, try maybe setting it to autoboot the game. I honestly haven't tried any mognet related stuffs on my DS-X yet but I'll check it this moment.

    EDIT: I checked my save quickly and no problems what-so-ever. Friend code is still there from when I started the game on my M3. FW is latest of course incase if Costello is right with his thoughts.
     
  5. KirbyPink

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    If ya get it back working here is a cheap way.
    Ya know that you gotta wait 1 hour? Not anymore! 8D
    Simple send a mail,save, go to DS setting and set the clock 1 hour forward! Boot up the game and voila! You can send a new mail =P
     
  6. mtbi2k
    OP

    Newcomer mtbi2k Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    To answer everyone at once...

    I have OS 1.0.2 already.

    I did try autoboot and that seemed to work. So then I decided to do a little test. I booted back into DS-X (holding A to get to the menu). I picked another game to play, let it load, reset the DS, booted back into DS-X, and loaded FFIII. Now mognet is once again asking me to initialize, giving me yet another friend code.

    So it seems that so long as I don't play another game, my 'current' friend code will be remembered. But what's the point in that? I'm not using the DS-X to play one and only one game. Blah.
     
  7. KirbyPink

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wierd.
    Yar using latest firmware so it shouldn´t be any problems. =/
    It´s either the rom or it´s not saving it correctly. Mine says 5kb.
    Try remove all game´s and save files except for FF3 then try. [​IMG]
    Could be that one of the other saves are inteffering with your FFIII
     
  8. mtbi2k
    OP

    Newcomer mtbi2k Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    5KB here too.

    Odd...my save files are all dated 1/1/1980 12:00am. That doesn't sound right to me
     
  9. mtbi2k
    OP

    Newcomer mtbi2k Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States

    I think I might have solved the issue. I went ahead and formatted then reflashed my DS-X. I've been cycling through games for a little while now and all seems well. Here's my FC if you don't mind being my guinea pig [​IMG] :

    201947997243

    Thanks again for all the help. Hopefully things will go smoothly from here on out.
     

Share This Page