Issue Restoring Nand

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tHciNc, Aug 19, 2009.

Aug 19, 2009

Issue Restoring Nand by tHciNc at 10:57 AM (1,476 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. tHciNc
    OP

    Member tHciNc Total Random

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I formatted my system memory on my wii (4.1e cios14 preloader bootmii in boot2). I did this hoping that i could copy back saves i had backed up to sd card, i copied all ten pages worth. 1st issue was no saves would copy back. Second issue was, when i tired to restore to the nand backup i had done just prior to formatting, it tells me its from a different machine. Why is this, do your keys change???? and i stuck with a clean machine and no saves ??
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Some other guy had the same issue on #wiidev. Get BootMii v2 on the wii to restore the nand until it's fixed.
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    your console key is changed every time you format the console so the old nand dumps are useless unless you can change the keys
     
  4. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't this sound like a problem that betwiin would fix?
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    he would have to dump his new keys and edit his old nand file to remove the old keys from the end of the dump file but it probably could be possible
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yea formatting the system changes your system's keys so you need to use beetwiin, or the new version of bootmii to get your new keys, then use betwiin to merge them to your old NAND.
     
  7. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Not realy..I get this sometimes to, and I never formated my Wii. But it's not always...Strangely, this only happens with the SDHC Card, a normal SD Card work perfect...since then, I'm using a normal SD Card...
     
  8. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know if this was a one time thing but i'll post it anyways, On the newest Bootmii beta 3 when i done a nand backup, its doesn't get accepted says its from a different Wii every time
    So can anyone confirm this for me, it would really be appreciated, just try a nand dump made from the newest bootmiivb3 and try to restore from it, and see if it works. maybe i was apost to have the key.bin on the root which i dont think i did. i'll try that later. Actually i'm going to try it again just to be sure
     
  9. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    wft are you talking about?? there is no bootmii v1.0. the latest is public beta 3
     
  10. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    excuse the typo, its early here yea beta3
     
  11. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Technically you're both right...

    From the changelog for the Hackmii 0.3 installer:

    BootMii beta 3 (v1.0):

    Improved the SD card compability
    Increased the backup/restore speed for some SD cards, but decreased it for others
    ... blah blah blah, etc etc.
     
  12. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i just tried again, and it done the same thing,
    So Is this happening to everyone, No offense TT is great but i dont understand Why they would change the way the keys are saved, Alot of people are going to have trouble with this.
    edit: Dumps made from b1 or b2 get accepted fine though, just so you know
    so alittle confirmation would be fine, so i know the problem isn't on my side otherwise i guess we'll be seeing a update soon

    Edit: seems it has been unofficially confirmed
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=174914
     
  13. tHciNc
    OP

    Member tHciNc Total Random

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I'm pretty sure when i goto info. my console id is the same as it used to be. so i should uninstall beta 3 on boot2 then reinstall beta2 on boot2 and try that?
    Is the console id what has to be the same ?? Also with betwiin, how you need the original keys, i only have a xxyyzz or whatever its called keys.txt. is that what you use. beta 3 must be screwed. cause i cant even make a dump of the newly formatted wii and restore it. says different wii
     
  14. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Just use beta 2 for now you should be fine.
     

Share This Page