iSmart DS pokemon fix

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by FAST6191, Sep 19, 2010.

Sep 19, 2010

iSmart DS pokemon fix by FAST6191 at 1:40 PM (4,724 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,741
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] iSmart DS pokemon fix
    Sorts pokemon bricking issue and adds the ability to run pokemon.
    [​IMG]

    Following the pokemon black and white bricking issue with the initial firmware the iSmart DS team have released an update to stop it from happening along with the update to the kernel to make pokemon work. If your device is already bricked then for now and the foreseeable future a replacement is your only option.



    release notes for the firmware and kernel


    [​IMG]iSmart DS download/news page
    [​IMG]GBAtemp news post about the bricking issue
    [​IMG]Filetrip download (iSmart kernel)
    [​IMG]Filetrip download (v3 firmware)
    [​IMG]Discuss

    While you are at it have a look at theĀ Official GBAtemp iSmart DS review that was just posted.
     
  2. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ah ! good.
    I'm glad they have quickly fixed this issue.
     
  3. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm no programmer,

    But what if the build in a wait before updating,
    You run the fix from any other DS Flashcard
    When it runs it waits for a swap
    Swap flashcard with iSmartDS
    Press start.

    Possible or not?
    like AR cards work
    or the Dumping homebrew stuff.
     
  4. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have no idea.
    Perhaps it's possible ?
     
  5. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,741
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Re hotswapping to fix rrobably not- most DS flash cards have some form of initialisation that needs to be done which differs from other carts be they AR or regular cartridges work.
     
  6. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    I can't find my Supercard MiniSD :/

    Maybe it's possible to run the nds from slot2 to flash slot1?
     
  7. dan80315

    Member dan80315 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just released and it's already bricking? No thanks, iSmart. I'll stick to my future DSTWO and my current Acekard.
     
  8. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Man, that's an embarrassing issue to plague a new flashcart huh?
    What's worse is that a lot of people who bought one might not even come across this important news and end up with a dead cart because of it...
     
  9. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No way. I tried it and even with all check removed it can't flash the memory.
    Seems that this flashcart is very upgradeable.
    Nice feature for future firmware development, but also easy to brick if it's not properly locked.
    The firmware v3 is here to fix that fact.

    @RupeeClock : stock just arrived in shops as i can see, George has probably asked them to secure their stock with this firmware update. [​IMG]

    I doubt customers already got their flashcart, only reviewer and coders got it.
     
  10. ismartds

    Newcomer ismartds Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks everyone for your support and feedback.

    We have been busy with upgrading the firmware to V3 for our entire inventory. We have also replaced the inventory of our clients with the upgraded ones. The new ones we sent out will have the new firmware patched already.

    It is unfortunate that we got hit by the new games. We are making every effect to correct the problem. So far, we have not heard from our customers with any bricked iSmart Premium yet. We did hear from couple of the reviewers whom we sent samples to that their iSmart Premium indeed were bricked.

    We have also notified our resellers about the issue and they will take care of their customers whoever has the problem.

    For some of the comments and suggestions here, we will do our best in the future to improve ourselves. We appreciate all the feedback.

    George at iSmartDS
     
  11. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
  12. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,741
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A quick bump to say about the minor bugfix to the internal firmware and corresponding kernel update. Download links in the initial post.
     

Share This Page