Is wiikey working OK

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kiteman, May 29, 2007.

May 29, 2007

Is wiikey working OK by kiteman at 5:36 PM (1,401 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. kiteman
    OP

    Newcomer kiteman Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before everyone goes mental. I've done a search but just need some conformation.

    I've got a wiikey, config disc works fine, but burnt games don't.
    iso size of games is 4.37gb
    burning onto sony dvd+r using sonic recordnow.

    Just want to know, if config disc works OK does this mean that the chip is working OK, if so why don't the games work, am i missing something.

    STEVE
     
  2. ih8crouch

    Member ih8crouch GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all i do to get backups of my games to run is use dvd-r, burn at 4x and away they go, i think ur right in saying they should run if the config disk runs have u tried a real wii game?
     
  3. shyducky

    shyducky Newbie

    Make sure to set booktype to dvd-rom if you use a dvd+r. Otherwise the wii doesn't recognise a dvd+r disc.
     
  4. kiteman
    OP

    Newcomer kiteman Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do I change the booktype I can't find where to do it on recordnow. do I need different burning software.

    I didn't change booktype for config disc and that works fine [​IMG]

    Yes original games work fine.
     
  5. Entwinedwithsick

    Newcomer Entwinedwithsick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    try using imgburn, that lets you set booktype
     
  6. kiteman
    OP

    Newcomer kiteman Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the config disc works does this mean that the chip is working correctly.
     
  7. georaldc

    Newcomer georaldc Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Philippines
    Mine works eventhough I do not change the bitsetting to dvd-rom. Have you tried using different media? I use +R verbatims and they work great, never had a bad burn yet.
     
  8. nilsk123

    Newcomer nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands
    in imageburn you can change your burners booktype for +r, if it gives you an error your drive does not support bitsetting. Google for the newest firmware for your burner or some hacked ones that do support it.

    For example I have a NEC ND3500AG, I couldn't change my booktype on it, because the official firmware doesn't support it. I flashed it with MadDog's hacked firmware and I can change it all I want.

    So remember, set DVD+R to DVD-ROM for wii games!
     
  9. aross6

    Newcomer aross6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    In my experience, some DVD+R brands work and some DVD+R brands do not. I've never had a DVD-R not work though... they are 100% reliable (note that I also burn at 2.4x using CloneCD). Go to Wal*Mart, spend the $15 on some good DVD-R media and watch your worries float away...
     
  10. kiteman
    OP

    Newcomer kiteman Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Burnt using imgburn and all is OK [​IMG]

    Thanks for the help guys [​IMG]
     
  11. crazimofo

    Newcomer crazimofo Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, use some quality DVD media. I got some TDK DVD-R and my WII will not load with those TDK.
     
  12. beauchampy

    Newcomer beauchampy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got some 'Dysan' discs sitting here (which were very cheap) and decided to give them a try.. they're excellent !!!! Work really well with my Wii. Better so than the TDKs I've been using.

    Getting some Verbs today (as I ran out of the Dysan and can't source anymore) so i'm going to see how they compare.
     

Share This Page