is this a good deal for a motherboard/CPU?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by baffle-boy, Feb 14, 2010.

Feb 14, 2010
  1. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    i need to buy a new motherboard and CPU to upgrade from my severely outdated one. i will be using it for some 3d gaming (TF2, Half life 2, L4D2) but not any intense gaming (like crysis). i really don't mind at all if the graphics settings have to be turned right down, just as long as the lag isn't unbearable. i would like a processor like the AMD Phenom II X4 965, and any motherboard should be fine. after some searching i have decided on THIS package deal, with the options set to: 8,2,2,3,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,2 with a total of $320.60. as far as the motherboard that comes with it, any will do, but i would prefer one with 2 PCIe slots, that isn't much more expensive.

    thanks for any help, sorry for the massive post.
     
  2. Delta517

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    I tried your link, but I only recieve this message: "The system cannot find the file specified."
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the link is messed up
     
  4. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    You can have more than one IDE device on one port, that's why the cables they come with usually have 3 ends. (One to plug into the mobo, 2 for devices)
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Just to be sure, you ARE aware that the graphics speed/quality depends on the graphics/video card, right? You didn't mention any in your first post, and it appears you think the processor is the main thing for gaming, when it's not.

    If you're running onboard graphics, what you need is a new graphics card, not a better processor.
     
  6. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    sorry about that, i fixed the link.

    @myuusmeow, do you mean that one cable can plug inot the mobo and 2 devices? ill have to check that out, because if it's true, you may have saved me $45!

    @rydian, i know i have a good graphics card. but i still need to upgrade my cpu because its not just old, its OLD, VERY VERY OLD. i play tf2 already, but i noticed that my system didn't meet the minimum system requirements for some games on steam in terms of the processor. i just bought my gfx card this year in fact.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the gfx card on that mobo is also very very old
    6 gens behind
     
  8. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, now that I think about it one of my older computers had a DVD drive and a HD both plugged into the same port on the mobo, just make sure to set the master/slave options correctly.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks a lot myuusmeow, now i dont have to buy a dvd drive. and joe88, i have a GFX card already, im not buying the one that comes with that mobo.
     
  10. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    >2GB of RAM
    >$50

    what
     
  11. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    ... what?
     
  12. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    its standard pricing these days for ddr2. market is making way for ddr3.
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    actually they are about almost $70 now for 2GB
    a year ago you could grab the same exact ram for $20
     
  14. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it's unfortunate. Why can't RAM just keep getting cheaper forever while new RAM is cheap too? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page