Is there somthing wrong with my AceKard2i (Pkm B/W)

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by LordZenr, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. LordZenr
    OP

    Newcomer LordZenr Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    For the past few days I've been trying to get Pokemon Black or White to play on my AceKard2i(Running AKAIO 1.7.1) that I got in the mail a few weeks ago. I've used multiple clean roms, patches, and most recently the exp/English patch. Everything goes fine while Professor Araragi is talking but after picking my gender and name it just goes to a black screen. I've heard other people have played it on the 2i and I haven't heard of anyone running into the same problem I am. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Ray_

    Newcomer Ray_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    i have the same problem so your not the only one
    i tried multiple solutions none worked so far [​IMG]
     
  3. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
  4. LordZenr
    OP

    Newcomer LordZenr Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a 4gb mircroSD HC.
     
  5. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Brand and the model numbers off the card?

    Edit: or better if possible put the card in the scanner and post the pic.
     
  6. LordZenr
    OP

    Newcomer LordZenr Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
  7. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    I would almost guarantee it is your SD card causing the issues. The PNY cards with the Japan label are supposed to be pretty good. Yours is a Taiwan product with no run number. It could be a fake, ghost run or just a cheap Taiwan product.

    The Japanese product looks like this
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Vartio

    Newcomer Vartio Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Is this type good? (I'll try to position everything according to the thing, but I can't get a picture at the moment)

    MICRO ^
    ......SD 4
    [.HC.]

    .....4GB
    CO4G TAIWAN (Small Print)

    Kingston
    SDC4/4GB 37 FCC T
     
  9. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Once again cheaper Taiwan model and could actually be anything underneath.
     
  10. LordZenr
    OP

    Newcomer LordZenr Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, you switched from a fake PNY card to a genuine SanDisk card.

    BTW, what's SanSick?
     
  12. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Glad you got it sorted.

    Spread the word.

    If your having issues and the usual fixes have failed... REPLACE YOUR SD CARD!
     
  13. Ray_

    Newcomer Ray_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    so if i switch into a 2gb sandisk it will work

    cause i dont wanna go buy one and end up not working
     
  14. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    General rule: The smaller the card the better the random access speed will be.

    This means that if you are only using a 2GB card you have a better chance of having a budget card working well.

    If you want a 4GB card to work properly you will need to be a little careful as things can be a little hit and miss at this size and you could end up wasting your money.

    For 8GB and above be paranoid. I would only purchase one of about four different cards at this size. I would not want to risk my money on anything else. [​IMG]

    Edit: DO NOT BUY A CARD MADE IN TAIWAN
     

Share This Page